Thoughts

Benefit of “life-blogging”

By “life-blogging” I mean the kind of blogging one does when one writes about his or her daily life. I do not usually do that kind of blogging, as I have emphasized in the past. There are two reasons. One related to the audience and one with related to myself. For the audience, I think it does not give them any value out of reading my blog. But then if one claims to write only for one’s satisfaction, audience should not really matter much. And no one is forcing them to read the blog – if they do not see any value, they will go away. Why bother? Therefore, it is the second reason that is more important. That is despite my feelings that “life-blogs” do not add value, many a times they do tend to attract big audience. And I would not want to tell about my day to day life to strangers. I am absolutely uncomfortable. In fact even through this blog, whenever people have tried to dig too much into my life, I have shunned them off – most of the times quite directly.

However, today I was thinking of an advantage of life blogging. Many a times, you do not initially know that you would want to remember something later. If you have been doing that kind of blogging, it will lie there whenever you want. This happened in case of PPTs. I wish I had written down my experiences with all the PPTs I attended somewhere. I have a feeling that it could have been turned into a really hilarious collection. Unfortunately it is too late. I am already forgetting the details of earlier PPTs and mixing them up with each other. :(( So, for the first time I wish I had been blogging like that. A private diary could be a solution to that. But maintaining a diary along with all these blogs I am trying to maintain is kind of tough.

Anyway!

P.S. I think I need to deal another issue regarding what I am labeling life-blogging. When I say life-blogging does not add value, I mean those kinds of bloggers who only write about what one had for the breakfast and with whom one went for the dinner. There are circumstances when life-blogging can add huge amount of value. For example, a researcher writing about his/her daily progress/setbacks in research giving details; or someone who is travelling a lot; or even someone writing about where he/she went for dinner, if he/she is a food connoisseur, keeps visiting different restaurant and gives details on the menu and dishes.

Technorati :

11 thoughts on “Benefit of “life-blogging”

  1. Jaya,

    As an IITian to another fellow iitian, I would like you to visit http://www.498a.org and let me know what you think about it. I personally know many IITians who are suffering because of this law.

    In any society there are good and bad elements. We all have sisters, and daughters, and undoubtedly, if some one behaves with them in an improper way, in such cases, our sisters and daughters need protection, and there should be law to punish the culprits.

    However, such law should not have any loopholes /flaws, which can be used to terrorise innocent. It is sad to read how section 498A is being misused by many. Unfortunately, the percentage of genuine cases are far too little than number of cases filed. It is duty of Law Enforcement agencies to introduce safeguards so that provisions of law are not misused. If corrective steps are not taken on top priority,
    then it will slowly destroy of Indian Culture, which has already started. We are losing meaning of united and loving families. It is high time that every Indian fore see ill effect it will have on our future generations. Let us not set bad examples for our children or force them to grow in broken homes. Nation is not land, mountains and rivers, but kind of people and society that exist.

    Let us not have attitude that I am not affected so why I raise my voice against such a law, who knows tomorrow what is going to happen in our home. As educated and responsible citizens of it is our duty to safe guard our society now, than feel sorry later.
    REMEMBER WRONG IS WRONG.

    See growing rate of divorce. Few days back there was news in HT, as per which majority of divorce cases are because women are having extra-marital affairs, why this situation is there, it is because certain women feel with weapon of section 498A on their side, they are much stronger than their husbands and In-Laws. My appeal to President of India, Prime Minister, Cabinet ministers, and Judges is please examine this issue on priority and save Indian culture. Introduce Law, which will protect innocent – both women and men.

    – Satya

  2. Now this is plain and simple comment spamming to attract attention. See the job your associates have done in the following links. If you want me to think that you are out there taking up a serious cause, then sorry. You grossly underestimate people’s capability to discern.

    To write or not to write

    Flexibility?

    And please spare sites like these http://batuldastudents.org/drupal/?q=node/18#comment-13 from your spams. I can take care of my personal site, but community sites become a differnet issue.

  3. To my further surprise, I came to know the reality in India, MOST % OF MEN IN
    INDIA ARE SILENTLY SUFFERING, SOME OF THEM WITHOUT BEING KNOWN TO THEM AS SUFFERING. IT IS ONLY BY THEIR PYSICAL CONDITIONS(DIESEASED), BY ANALYSIS. MOST MEN IN MY NEIGHBOUR HOOD KNOWS ABOUT THIS SECTION 498A AND WOMEN GROUPS.

    For IPC 498a, it is sufficient enough to JAIL husband indefinitely, If wife
    informs police of just mental harrassment.

    They told us, this is the way society lives in India. I heard from others
    that, as we (my family) just came up financially and socially, so my generation,
    I wouldn’t know it.

    For the last 3.5 years, my family and myself being around courts. I am tired
    meeting politicians, paying lawyers and police. My father expired due to heart
    attack about 4 months back.

    I lost my father, who( used to sit beside me while I was studying late nights
    till 2 pm everyday)..I lost my education. I lost my wisdom.

  4. I am trying to convey in simple, what really happenning in India.

    I was a fun guy till 25, being university topper, but from a lower middle
    class family. My Dad being simple, illiterate but honest individual by nature. Mother
    simple housewife, happy going family.

    Later, I married a girl from a lowered middle class family, a degree student,
    thought would help me with my work and thought continuing fun life with one
    more member as a part & parcel of this family.

    To my strange experience, now I started learning what is India?
    As long as everything went right before marriage, I was just next
    to any Peter or any Neha, having thoughts in the same pattern of their life.

    Fun, Joke, and happiness now started seem to be only for a few families. My
    wife unwilling to stay with my family and always tried in arrogancy to meet her
    parents demands. I surprised, why this woman was like this.

    To my surprise I ended up in JAIL with my mother, father and one of my sister,
    reason being not meeting her parents demands of staying near by their home.

    This IPC sec 498a (Stupid maker of this law) is NON-BAILABLE WARRANT AND NO BAIL FOR THE FAMILY, REGARDLESS OF PYHSICAL VIOLENCE EXISTS OR NOT. MY GOD, WHAT HAPPEN TO MY COUNTRY.?

    After being in Jail for few days, I started my own research in the newspapers,
    organizations, MEN cells and most of the neighboour hood higher-middle class
    families.

  5. What my country has given me knowledge and means to live with.

    JUST TO ACKNOWLEDGE THE COURT ABOUT MY FAMILY INNOCENCY, IT WOULD COST SEVERAL YEARS OF MY WHOLE FAMILY TIME, MY FATHER’S DEATH.

    These are all other realities:
    ANY SINCERE AND HONEST SHOUTS IN AN EDUCATED VOICE AGAINST EVIL, ONE CAN GET KILLED OR BEATEN IN A VERY FEW HOURS IN INDIA, BY HOOLIGANS OF A SMALL POLITICIAN ITSELF. THEN THINK OF EVILS SITTING INSIDE PARLIAMENT.

    BELIEVE ME, WE ARE AT DISASTER. IF HONEST AND SINCERE PPL. SUFFERING LIKE THIS, WHO WILL DONATE AND HELP FURTHER POOR AND INNOCENTS FOR THEIR UPLIFT. WE WILL BE LEFT WITH CROOKED AND WORST PPL. ON TOP OF THE GOVT.

    BRAIN AND WISDOM IS THE CAUSE OF SUFFERING IN INDIA. DEVELOPMENT OF MIND AND SOCIAL POWER OF THINKING IS LOWER.

    YOUNGSTERS ARE INTELLIGENT IN MY COUNTRY ON THEIR COLLEGE SUBJECTS BUT NOT ON THE SOCIAL ENGINEERING LIFE. EVERY ONE WILL KNOW WHAT I AM TALKING ABOUT, ONLY WHEN THEY LOOSE SOMEONE FROM THEIR FAMILY FOR THEIR NO MISTAKE AND BY GOVERNING
    BODY FOOLISH LAWS IN TO THE SOCIETY.

    SOMETIMES I FEEL, I WANT TO LEAVE THIS COUNTRY FOR EVER.

    AS LONG AS I LIVE HERE, IT REMEMBERS MY FATHER…AND HIS DEATH BECAUSE OF FOOLISH SYSTEM.

  6. “And as bad as those “so called” feminists who consider all men as MCPs :)”

    Hmm… I am a feminist and I am not an MCP. We really need to talk about this further.

  7. Oh, come on Apurva, what has happened to you now? I am considering it absurd that there are feminists who think all the males are MCPs. I am not saying all the feminists think so. Nor am I endorsing any such thought…

    Did I make a mistake in writing that comment?

Leave a comment