Excerpts · Imported from Old Blog

Just Like That

Dar-dar ghoom raha tha tab main
Chillata- Haala! Haala!
Mujhe na milta tha madiralaya,
mujhe na milta tha pyaala;
Milan hua, par nahin milan-sukh
Likha hua tha kismat main,
Ab main jamkar baith gaya hoon,
Ghoom rahee hai madhushala.

( Dr. Harivansh Rai Bachchan, Madhushala)

(Complete Madhushala in Devnagri is available on my ‘Writings Page’. Check out the section ‘Hindi Poems by Others’)

Literal Translation (To the extent I could do it)

In those days I was going door to door asking desperately for wine. I was unable to find the wine-shop. I was unable to find the wine-glass. Union happened, but luck would not have the pleasure of union for me. Now, I am sitting stationary, and the tavern is revolving.

One thought on “Just Like That

Leave a comment