From activist to escapist…

I was wondering why has it become so difficult to write something for the blog. And the reply that came to my mind was saddening. The days of optimism about the world around me are over. It might be the age, the experience and other usual stuff. But even worse is the realization that access to information 24/7, the ever-delivering media and the world-connecting social media, only add to the feeling of hopelessness.

Media tells me how hopeless the leaders are. Social media tells me how hopeless even the educated, upwardly mobile, exposed-to-the-world people around me are. If there weren’t such a glut of informtion, we might have continued to write essays on our prime-ministers and chief-ministers and all sorts of leaders. If it hadn’t been so easy to know everyone’s views, I would have believed that education, exposure, access to better lifestyle can eliminate social evils, can combat regressive thinking, and can make the world a better place. But I can’t live in that cocoon. It is all out there.

It becomes too much to handle. I don’t read news. I don’t click on a lot of obviously thought-provoking articles and videos people share on facebook. They have such potential of  sending me into depression that I choose escapism. And I don’t like the idea of penning down pessimistic or escapist ramblings. So, I find it difficult to write.

But I can’t escape my escapism! That is what I am left with. And I have decided to write more and cook less this year😀 So, get ready for the escapist, pessimistic ramblings. Who knows! There might a be silver lining in the cloud… (For the records – I don’t mean S3)

This entry was posted in Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

Leave a Reply

