Nostalgic Rambling

Things were different a decade and a half back. I grew up in small towns. By small towns, I do not mean tier-2 cities. Really small towns, whose name you may not have heard. And I was the quiet, shy, introvert sort of a child (those who have seen me in more aggressive avatar later in my life might have difficulty believing it, but it’s true🙂 ) I liked to sit in a corner, away from people, and read day and night. The problem? There wasn’t enough stuff available to read. There were no libraries or book clubs in those small towns, book stores carried mostly just textbooks and reference books (plus purchasing power was low) and there weren’t any elderly, reading-enthusiasts around on whose personal library I could have feasted.

I loved reading and I used to be desperate to find new stuff. I gobbled up pretty much any book or magazine that came my way, some of which my parents found inappropriate for my age (e.g. women’s magazine that I would read at the age of eight hiding from my parents🙂 ). When I went to my maternal uncles’ place during holidays, I would feast on the comics and others books that were available there. Once when I had run out of everything to read, one of my elder cousins got me a book of hundred stories, hoping that it would keep me busy for rest of my holidays. I finished it in one day and he threw up his hands!

And how things have changed.

I have an overflowing library now. So many books… New books are easier to buy and affordable for me for most part. There are libraries. There are e-books. There is Gutenberg. There is the entire Internet.

And amidst all this, I am too distracted to read anything calmly.

Be happy for the abundance or be sorry for the distraction?

This entry was posted in Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

3 thoughts on “Nostalgic Rambling

  1. I swear you got me nostalgic!!! I was so like that as a kid… Even today my sis flinches when we pass a book store.. As she knows I’ll get stuck there… Cannot leave a book store w/o purchasing… But my bad luck that I can not have a proper book collection as I always wanted.. since the books out here are all overly priced. I was talking to Tinu today when she asked me to recommend some books to her .. & my list went on & on.. (& that was just “Must Read” books..:P).. She too did mention that “you have read so many books” … & I went back to the time… when I was always found with a book with me….
    I’ve read books during exam times as it helped me to de-stress… & I still had the time…
    People were amazed when they saw me with “Gone with the wind” in my backpack (Its a pretty thick book)…

    But today … Things have so changed.. I have my mini collection.. but don’t have the time to read.. Commitments have got so much over our lives.. that we are left with absolute no time to cater to our hobbies.. You don’t have time even to de-stress..😦

    Thanks for the post… & for getting me all nostalgic… Miss that time…

  2. well i m was one of them who love to read thriller books as kid…..as i grown up lil…i switched to romantic one but still i read novels and books whatever i came across with it….i so lovee to read them….sometimes i used to fall asleep with book on my faceee mom was never in favour of me reading novels….so all the novels i read is chori chupe…
    so i dt have any collectionof books….as i always used to borrow books frm friends and return them…the very next day..and they used to say…tune ek raat me padh liya kya ….and i replies yup…with a broad smile😀

  3. So true Jaya. Purchasing power has gone up and things which we used to crave for in some other life are so much within reach. Yet, we ignore, move on from one milestone to another without realizing that we’re giving missing ‘living’.

Leave a Reply

