My shopping woes

image

There is one stereotype associated with women, which I really regret not being able to conform too. The supposedly superior shopping skills of women. The most important being bargaining.

I can’t bargain to save my life. To top that I end up discouraging even a shopping companion who is trying to bargain on my behalf. The entire your-are-ridiculous-I-am-hurt business makes me cringe and want to run away. Abhaya has been a recent victim of this at Gariahat market in Kolkata.

Recently I met the founder of Zopnow and he mentioned something about typical men vs. women buying behavior. Apparently women tend to look through as much as possible. Then do multi-stage filtering. So, they take out 4 things amongst all they have seen. And then from those 4 narrow down to 1. Men, on the other hand, keep looking and as soon as they find something they want, they take it and are done with it.

I realized that I falter at this stage itself. I identify with men’s behavior described above more than women’s. And there is something else that makes my shopping issue worse. Once I like something, so long as I can afford it, I must have it. Not getting a good enough bargain can’t be a reason for me not to buy it. There you see. The shopkeeper is quick to realize this and is not likely to give into bargaining after that.

Phew. And it continues. Even in the malls and bigger stores. With 51% off on most items, the one thing I end up liking turns out to be the latest arrival and not on discount. And me being me, I must buy it.

Why dear God why? Mere saath ye nainsaafi kyon?

This entry was posted in Time Pass by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

Leave a Reply

