Resolution time!!

Time to talk about new year resolutions again🙂

Well – there aren’t any new ones for me this time. I had two resolutions for last year. One about regular exercise and the other about paying bills on time.

I did fairly well on the exercise front, although I would like to be more disciplined than I have been last year. So, that’s the resolution for this year.

I lost a decent amount of weight and now I am at a stage, where I am not worried about my health due to weight. I would like to lose some more, but that will be an added bonus so that I can buy some funkier dresses :))

I have a thought about losing weight here. Typically there are two ways you can do it. By controlling your diet (not starving, but healthy food) or by exercise. Ideal way is, of course, a combination of both. But it is difficult for most people. Now, if you want to lose weight whether you choose the diet option or the exercise option may depend on your personal preference. Some people find one easier than the other.

I find both difficult. So, it was a question of choosing the lesser evil for me. I figured that controlling diet for long is not possible for me. Probably upbringing in a Brahmin family can be blamed for it partially :)) No. I am not a foodie. But food is considered very sacrosanct in my family. You do not count the number of rotis you are eating or making (as is no per person counting while making rotis)! That’s considered  cheap behaviour. It is okay to prepare double the amount of food you may need, but it is mortifying to run out of even pickles while eating. One sabzi and one daal is not considered enough even for your day to day meals. And you never, ever stop anyone from eating or comment on how much they eat. That’s too huge an insult! It is so ingrained that I get annoyed at Abhaya very often, if he stops me from eating something, even if it is something as trivial as chocolate and he stops me only for health reasons.

So, even though overeating is not my problem, if I want to eat something at some point of time, being prevented from doing so is not done for me.

That leaves exercise as the only option for me. But there is another reason to choose exercise over diet if you care to weigh in these reasons in your decision making. Exercise also has an advantage over diet as a means of weight loss. It helps not only in losing weight, but also in overall fitness. So, in last one year, my health has been better than what it had been two-three years preceding that. The legs which can carry you a few kilometers and the lungs which are strong enough to pump oxygen for that are great confidence boosters, even if you are not dependent on physical labour for you day to day work. Feeling healthy and strong improves your quality of life, your productivity and your happiness.

So, exercise regularly in 2012! I must hit the stairs after posting this😀

Coming to the second resolution, I didn’t do well on the paying the bills on time. So, that will be a major thing in 2012. Pay those bills on time Jaya Jha. I have cancelled a card that was particularly troublesoe because it was not connected with any bank account😀 So, I had to remember to pay the bills. There were no SIs for it.This should help me defaulting less. Rest is up to… well, me.

This entry was posted in Others by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

One thought on “Resolution time!!

Leave a Reply

