Disclaimers and Warnings :)

Okay – so I am going to post my story in parts on this blog. Here are some disclaimers and warnings for those who are reading it

  • My skills with fiction writing is severely limited. This is the first time I have ventured outside the domain of short stories. Developing characters and plots are difficult things for me. So, don’t expect too much. It will be a simple story.
  • Although I have rewritten several parts several times, there has been no external feedback yet. Neither from any reader nor from any professional editor. So, there will be many issues.
  • The end has not been written yet. There is no major climax to be expected. It is just that at what point should I end the story.
  • Real life inspirations have been mixed and matched in the characters – so no character represents anyone from real life. Although some parts of their personalities, some incidents in their lives may be inspired from different people I know in real life.
  • There are other sources of inspirations too. These include
    • Things that did not happen in real life, but which I would have loved to happen or which could have happened even if I did not like them. [basically something that you can imagine even in your real life, but it did not really happen]
    • Purely fictional characters as I have seen/read them in other works of fiction: These happened when I did not have any real life examples for the characters I wanted to sketch, and when my limited ability to write fiction did not let me create something totally original.
  • Abhaya and Apurva – if you are reading the story, you are not allowed to comment in public😛
One thing on feedback, apart from general feedback on what is good and what is bad, I would love it if you could suggest actual plots for the story. What could happen? What is the alternative way of showing the same emotion? What different emotion could have been shown? How? There could be character like this in the story and so on.
If I incorporate them in my final story, I will definitely acknowledge you for the suggestion.
Finally the story does not have a title yet. So, once you read it, you can suggest a title too.
This entry was posted in Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

Leave a Reply

