Being Seventeen

I don’t miss
My Childhood.
Though I know, carefree
days are so good.

But I really miss
Being that girl of seventeen.
That naive sense of power,
Dreams with indomitable sheen.

The number of things
I wanted to be.
The highs and lows
I wanted to see.

That sweet wait
For true love of life.
The confidence of
Shining through strife.

The belief in justice,
That snappiness.
The intolerance of bad,
Hopes of ultimate happiness.

The shouting of slogans,
The fighting with power.
Feeling the pain of
Every crushed flower.

The firm resolve to
Not follow the herd.
Finding compromises
Absolutely absurd.

I really miss
That fire within.
What wouldn’t I give
To be again seventeen!

This entry was posted in Own Poetry English by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

11 thoughts on “Being Seventeen

  1. ITS JUST A THOUGHT WANNA SHARE :-

    BEING 17 WAS ONE OF THE BEST STAGE OF LIFE AND IT IS NOT GOING TO COME BACK. YOU CAN ENJOY YOUR SEVENTEEN TIME AND DREAM SAME WITH SOME MATURE THINKING WHILE ENJOYING CURRENT STAGE OF LIFE.

  2. I sure do miss being Seventeen.. and try my best to keep that girl alive and kicking in me.. And sometimes I get to live her life and time too.. Ur poem sure did bring some long lost memories🙂 Thanks for such sweet reminder of the past.

  3. “That naive sense of power, Dreams with indomitable sheen, The number of things I wanted to be” – so true .. Thanks for reminding me of those times🙂

  4. May be a comment for older post. But wanted to share that I too miss the spark. Yeah, how true….Knowledge and experience are sometimes big burdens to heart.

Leave a Reply

