The Transformation

For years, when I was a student, staying in one hostel after the other, my father, dead sure that my aaloo-only eating habits will affect my eyes one day or the other, faithfully took me to the doctors for an eye-testing during every vacation. He was particularly concerned because my brother, with similar eating habit, had vision issues since he was a child. But I scored a perfect 6/6 every time, defying all that people wanted to believe about the relationship between healthy eating habits and actual health! “No green vegetables? You are sure to spoil your eye-sight very soon”

Folks – aaloos served me well enough. It was after my professional life forced me to put some stuff in my plate in those company dinners (it looked awkward otherwise), and after I started eating them a bit, and after I got married to Abhaya and green vegetables started getting cooked in my home, and after I had stopped going for these regular check-ups, that the lightning really struck! Some months back I started having difficulties in reading sign boards which were a bit far or had a small fonts. Others with me could read them very well.  Going to the doctor kept getting postponed. Finally, we managed to go to a doctor last time we were in Lucknow. Even after them getting glasses kept getting postponed. Until last Monday, at nine in the night, the optician close to our place gave a call saying the glasses are ready, I was still a free woman.

But that call changed things forever. Wearing the glasses outside is fine enough. But I am yet to get used to wearing them while working on computer. That funny feeling between eyebrows just does not go away. And having to take them off every time I want to rub my eyes, or apply a little moisturizer on drying skin or change my top is so damned irritating! Not to forget the cleaning of glass that is necessitated every time I touch it by mistake. And does not matter how I do my hair, I look like the nerdy, unsure of life and love heroine straight out of Hindi movies and serials (sans the beauty and grooming!).

Sigh! I need a new-to-specs support group badly!

This entry was posted in Time Pass by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

3 thoughts on “The Transformation

Leave a Reply

