Why do I have to feel apologetic that I did not like Slumdog Millionaire :)

It is becoming funny. The moment you say something against “Slumdog Millionaire”, you are being an elite, hypocrite, who does not want to look at the darker side (read slums, poverty) of a city like Mumbai and country like India.

No – for God’s sake! I have absolutely nothing against someone showing poverty in a movie. I am not offended by it. I know it is a reality and let them show all they want.

I don’t like it because it simply was not a good movie. The entertainment aspect was a dud. The “real India” aspect unimpressive.

Let me elaborate.

The entertainment aspect of the movie was based on a very interesting concept. One person with an extremely humble background comes to a game show and knows all the answers. How? There is a story connected to each of them. I am not looking for whether the premise is realistic. I have some expectations from it because it is interesting and intriguing. A good story can come out it. But…

  • This “slumdog” knows that the picture on the the dollar bill is that of Benjamin Franklin. How? From another blind “slumdog” who is a beggar and has lived even less privileged life than himself. It did not answer the “How” for first “slumdog”. Instead it created a “How” for the second one. Pray, what is the answer to the second “How”. Nowhere to be located in the movie. A mind expecting something interesting becomes frustrated instead of becoming entertained or satisfied.
  • Why on earth did our hero need to jump into a pit of shit to know that Amitabh Bachchan was the lead actor in Zanzeer! For God’s sake. Was it a subtle depiction of unhygienic conditions on slums? No, it was a gross depiction of something which I will call “sensationalization of unhygienic conditions and sensibilities of slum dwellers”. Really, there was no need to have a story behind knowing that Amitabh Bachchan was the lead actor in Zanzeer. After all as our “slumdog” himself says – He is the most famous man in India. And unhygienic conditions were depicted very well without this scene.
  • Why would the host of a show take it so personally that a person from a humble background is winning the money. If anything, he should be happy. If the “slumdog” wins all the money, it will be great for the TRP of the show and the host should love it. It is not his money anyway. Let the producers and sponsors worry. Mind you, the host was not just being suspicious (which would have been a genuine concern since if later it was revealed that the guy cheated, it’d be bad for the show). He seemed to be taking it as a personal offense that this guy is winning the money. Funny. And no host whose mind is in the right place would so overtly insult the participant on the show. Whatever might be his personal feelings, if he is worth hosting the show and has any professionalism to speak of, he would be cordial and respectful to the participants while the show is being recorded. We have seen enough of these shows, haven’t we? I am not surprised that Amitabh Bachchan felt bad about this movie🙂 – his character has been so absurdly villainized. Of course he never spoke of this aspect🙂
  • Half the characters speak English with Indian accent, one fourth with American accent and all these American English speakers speak Hindi in their childhood. Now, what are we trying to do here? Are we trying to make a movie where everything, including language, is authentic. Then let’s keep it Bombay Hindi/Hinglish all through and give subtitles in English. Are we trying to keep the language as English, so that the intended American audience gets something; but we also want to give an Indian flavour to it? Then let’s have everyone speak English with Indian accent (and still give subtitles). Or are we trying to abstract out the language, since we are making it for American audience anyway. Then let’s leave the language out of the way and have everyone speak American English. What on earth is that mixture doing there? That mixture of language (American English, Indian English, Sophisticated Hinglish and Hindi) looks relevant in the new economy corporate circles, not in the situation the movie is trying to depict.

The realistic poverty aspect is unimpressive. “So, you don’t like the fact that it shows poors in an attitude of ‘I am poor, but I am happy’. Right?” The fans would immediately ask. Wrong. All I am saying is that the depiction was mediocre. All the claims of Indian Film making can take a leaf out of it is non-sense. Don’t know what I am talking about? See a bunch of wonderful Bollywood movies in last decade or so, if you want to see the underworld nexus. And you don’t need to go that far for “I am poor, but I am happy” either. Just take out some time to watch “Traffic Signal” by Madhur Bhandarkar. Or are we talking about the situation of girls in prostitution and dance bars. Check out “Chameli” and “Chandni Bar”.

In short, let’s stop getting overwhelmed just because an American British (pardon my not checking the nationality of the director) of the stature of Danny Boyle cared to make a movie on India. It is a great movie for Americans (and others with fancy notions about India). Fine. Let it be. We don’t need to fall head over heals on that. “Pardes” (remember Mahima Chaudhary? She is hosting a show “Salaam-e-Ishq” on Star one these days by the way.) was a great film for India. But it wasn’t a great film to depict American society to Indians. Americans won’t fall for that movie, right? We have seen much better ones on India in India and will continue to see them in future. It is not a Indian Film. It is an American Film and great for them. Let the buck stop there. With due respect to all the awards, both Gulzar and Rahman have done much better work in past. And let’s hope they continue to do so in future.

इति-श्री।

This entry was posted in Movies by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

24 thoughts on “Why do I have to feel apologetic that I did not like Slumdog Millionaire :)

  1. ====

    With due respect to all the awards, both Gulzar and Rahman have done much better work in past.

    ====

    That’s a matter of opinion. Rahman’s work on this movie is superb. Contextually superb and artistically too. Rahman has done too many great songs to place anything supreme, but at the same time, to relegate his Slumdog work so blithely is preposterous and facile.

  2. The real question for me here is(i got the answer now thanks!)what is it that everybody finds so “uplifting” “engrossing” about this movie?

    Why anyone would describe such a flick as “joyous”?what are we celebrating here? our poverty? If this were an American movie,about an American tot running through same horrible situations,life of abuse,on the streets of New York,I have a hard time trusting it would described as anything other than disturbing and frightening.

    If this story were set in Washington DC,It would b decried as racist.This is a story of a poor chap.forced to b come a thief.by a despicable milieu.what a revolting world he lives in.Nothing “joyous” celebratory here!unless we are celebrating the superiority of our culture over the vile one portrayed in the movie.are we nt working on sliding scale?this is why its a win of humanity.just managing not to get bagged is an accomplishment of its own in this India.and we should find it “uplifting”.i m not aware this is really an India,and i want to trust exists,but if it does,seriosuly i have no intention to celebrate!

    yeah pardes is fantastic still.And that girl(kusum ganga) hmmm.Dont mind please! Once again Rocking post!

  3. @Jay: I have not relegated their work anywhere. Its just a simple statement that they have done better work in past (but all the international awards come pouring only for this movie, for numerous other reasons!). Anyway, its a matter of opinion after all🙂 So, chill.

    @Prasun: By all means, call it international with cast and crew from all over the world, limitedly released just in time in North America to qualify for last year’s Oscar! Who would have bothered about it if not for this Oscar nomination drama. Does not change the point.

    @Abhaya: You bet. If it has been anything more realistic, Danny Boyle would have to field human rights questions before Oscar awards ones.

  4. Logic..u don’t find it everywhere. Well, I liked the movie. Jamal was a true lover. It doesn’t matter whether it was Latika or Amitabh Bachhan, he was ready to go to any extent for them.

    Cheers!!

  5. 1. I liked the film; liked it lots actually.😀

    2. You are the odd (wo)man out!

    3. Nothing is beautiful from every point of view of course.😆

    4. I like dissent more than consent.

    5. I pray it does win the Oscar for the best film despite my liking (Benjamin is a better film though I have only read the review).

    6. I wish the font size in this theme was bigger!

  6. I really liked the movie though I find that some guys don’t like the movie. It is not a documentary film and so I guess that some drama is expected. Two years (?) back ‘water’ won Oscars for best foreign film and I guess it did not show India in good light as well , but then there was not so much hue and cry over it. I guess some guys don’t like a foreigner showing dark sides of life of a slum-dweller. Americans have also made many award winning movies showing dark side of USA e.g. “Full Metal Jacket” and “Apocalypse Now”. Anyway everybody is entitled to have their own opinions🙂.

  7. @Nand: You defeated the entire point of this post with your comment. It is clearly and very specifically mentioned that in the post that the reasons for dislike had nothing to do with showing India in poor light. Your response in the kind I have mentioned in the first para itself!

  8. Hi Jaya,
    My comments include response on other comments made on your post and many others who have criticized this movie. Thats why I chose to use ‘some guys’, I am not directly addressing you here. Anyway I love your writing style from IITK days. Keep writing🙂

  9. My latest post registering my delight with SM was quite a hit and I got a fw comments that disagreed with me. I am quoting here from my post and replies to one of the comments that I think will be relevant for the readers of this post too.

    So, why did SM win 8 Oscars?!Because “the heart has its reasons which reason knows nothing of!”😀

    Slumdog Millionaire deserved a few Oscars only, in my humble opinion. But what the heck, I am delighted! 8 Oscars boy! Bhagwan jab deta hai chhapar phaad ke deta hai!

    The power of human emotions can really overwhelm. It is a telltale sign that the ‘heart’ still calls the shots in a troubled and deteriorating world.

    There was a lot of hullabaloo against this film by the who’s who in India and how it depicts us in bad light and whatnot. They also said that films made by Indians are not recognized while those made by Westerners get the accolades! When I wrote “I hope hereafter we will not carp about our Bollywood and masala moives not being recognized by the West” I had these criticisms of the film in mind in that I wanted to suggest that Boyle made a great film unlike most of our Bollywood efforts and reaped the benefits. This film gave a lot of opportunity for Indian film makers for introspection and came quite close to suggesting us our shortcomings or issues/matters related to film making that had kept the Oscars away from us.

    All said and done, SM is a great film and has done lots to make India and the Indian issues known to the global public and media. I am delighted over the 8 Oscars (the icing on the cake is of course Gulzar saab’s and Rahaman’s and Resul’s oscars)! That it is made by a British and not an Indian or for that matter by Boyle and not Ghai does not have any significance for me. I am delighted irrespective of its genetic make up. I am concerned about the cause and not who gets the credit.

    SM may not have India written all over it but it but it has India writ large on its forehead! That is reason enough to rejoice at the success of the film and I do not have any guilty feeling while I partake in the festivities.

  10. I totally agree with your point of view. There’s no reason why the movie has to have a mediocre love story arbitly built in, or a valiant death of an underworld goo-turned brother. I thought Bollywood left those gimmicks in early 90s.
    It’s not an Indian movie, just a British movie about idea, that won most of its awards courtesy strong politicking and lobbying. Why do we crave for approval by the West so much!

  11. @Vikas, I dint like,i dint like,very simple Got It? And i wrote the reason too!

    This is nt your blog,fathom this,isnt it? I m nt reading your blog!If you have different viewpoint express it without being contemptual with existing ones,fathom?

    Only the *Author* has the prerogative to fit on the commenters *nobody* has! donot mull that this is a public place!

    You are hero on your own blog nt here! If someone is “oddman out or odd woman out” that should nt create any sort of discomfort for you!

    And “rome is buring…..”

    keep such proverbs for your own self not for me please! You are a tot to twig what it means!

    Read the post and comment!why to read comments and then senselessly trying others inculding the Author to agree on your view point??

    I can write more….but nt inclined to create a scene here seriously!

    End from my side

    Anupam

  12. @Anupam Jha’s angry replies to me,

    I am sorry, period!

    I am going for dinner and will be back in some 20 minutes and will write you an elaborate reply on your caustic comments. Whether you read it or not is no skin off my nose!

    Jaya, if you are around this is the time to appear.

  13. TO WHOSOEVER IT MAY CONCERN – REPLIES TO MR. ANUPAM JHA’S VIOLENT OUTBURSTS AGAINST ME:

    1. Anupam said:

    Vikas, I dint like,i dint like,very simple Got It? And i wrote the reason too!

    I SAY: Yes, I know you didn’t like it and so did Jaya and so many here! When did I say that ‘I did not get it?!’ It is of course ‘very simple’! Yeah! You wrote your reason too. So, what have I got to do with it?! You subscribe to your opinion and that is fine with me. I like dissent more than consent. You write as if I tried to crucify you for your POV! Huh!😡

    2. Anupam said:

    This is nt your blog,fathom this,isnt it? I m nt reading your blog!If you have different viewpoint express it without being contemptual with existing ones,fathom?

    I SAY: Of course I fathom it Mr Anupam! I wasn’t born yesterday! BTW, who asked you to read my blog?! If I had wanted you or Jaya to read my blog I would given here the hyperlink to the story and not the excerpts. I never asked you to visit my blog.

    Just because everything is written here does not mean you have to read it. If you are so easily offended by opposite/diverging viewpoints, you better stay in your make-believe world and do not make appearances or leave footprints on public forums like this. :mrgreen:

    I simply thought it would behove me if I left here some more of my POV on this issue because I thought there was some action and debate going here and I will only enhance it. YOU ALSO APPRECIATED THAT MR. ANUPAM AND THAT IS WHY YOU WROTE “guys are reading comments too seriously man!and i have always fun seeing serious ones”! So you yourself have admitted that you don’t take comments seriously and “have fun” ! Bravo Anupam! Bravo! Then where did all your fun disappear suddenly?!

    Also, I do not harbour any contempt here for the author or anyone else. My comments were there when you wrote in a lighter vein that “guys are taking it seriously” which only proves that you lost your equanimity only later and had no problem with my elaborate comments here.

    3. Anupam said:

    Only the *Author* has the prerogative to fit on the commenters *nobody* has! donot mull that this is a public place!

    Your this line has some typo probably but I think I got it. You are suggesting that only the author (Jaya) has the prerogative to comment on the commenters.

    Nah! I don’t agree with this. The actual discussion on many good blogs actually takes place in the comments. Perahps that is also the reason WP recently introduced comment threading and nesting (Jaya, you may enable that feature). Anyone is free to comment on any comment or the post, simply put! That is what a healthy discussion is.

    If you are so afraid Mr. Anupam of being touched by others you can email your comments to Jaya (using the ‘contact me’ form) in the header and it will always remain canned and unseen by the rest of the world and that will ensure that your peace of mind is not tampered by individuals who may or may not agree with you.

    Jaya also understand this in all probability. If she were into discouraging discussion here she would have decided for a restrictive comment policy and also enabled the option to moderate comments. She has not put these restrictions on her readers which is amenable to a healthy discussion. But I see that “common sense is not so common” and an innocuous comment here is a red rag to a bull!😉

    If you want to see how discussion takes place in comments, you may visit Nitawriter on WP (which has more than 16 Lakh hits to this date). If you visit that blog, I suggest you not to leave your comments there becasue many active readers will second your voice or call it in question upon disagreement (which will of course offend you)! You may read her Delhi 6 review post to note the debates in the comments. The cat is often away and the mice play! And it is so healthy and desirable.

    4. Anupam says:

    You are hero on your own blog nt here! If someone is “oddman out or odd woman out” that should nt create any sort of discomfort for you!

    Oh boy! I am indeed a hero on my blog! Thank you very much for the compliment.😆 I just recalled that I have a superhero post coming up on my blog in another 24 hours; you may visit it to have a look at my hero avatar from the Hero factory!

    And it is no discomfort to me if someone is odd (wo)man out! Haven’t I written that “I like dissent more than consent?” Perhaps you need to see an optometrist Mr. Anupam! It is better to be watchful for Myopia and detect it early or you will end up wearing glasses of minus 7 like me!😮

    Jaya, this man speaks like he is a co-author or an admin on this blog! Huh!👿

    5. Anupam said:

    And “rome is buring…..” keep such proverbs for your own self not for me please! You are a tot to twig what it means!

    I wonder why this has been a red rag to you!? Proverbs/sayings/idioms/phrases/similies/metaphors are enhancements to the language. These are so commonly used; the language will be robbed of its beauty if people begin taking offence at such harmless digs! Isn’t it Jaya?! These are only meant in a figurative sense dude and are not taken literally! Also, please note that I had used a smiley after the line to suggest the lightere vein! Why so serious?! (a la Dark Knight!)😉 You can’t appreciate humour! I pity you!

    And thank you I AM A TOT indeed! I may be a Ph.D. student with JNU but I am a kid and I am proud of that and never want to grow old what is more.😀😀 You Mr. Anupam, whatever your age, have become quite old and wise, worldly-wise, irritatingly sane and whatnot (so much so that even the beauty of the language fails to appeal to you).I pity you Mr. Anupam!

    Thank you for blessing the child in me. I belive growing old is optional but for you it seems growing old (and irritatingly sane) has been compulsory. I choose to remain in my first childhood. Thank you for the admiration. At least one accusation of yours has truly delighted me. You visited my blog, boy! Only then you could have discovered the tot in me! Thanks Mr. Anupam!😛

    6. Anupam said:

    Read the post and comment!why to read comments and then senselessly trying others inculding the Author to agree on your view point?? I can write more….but nt inclined to create a scene here seriously! End from my side

    I say: I of course read the post though I had done it rather cursorily and that is why I left some quick comments (numbered). If these were offensive, Jaya would have commented on them by now of course!

    Get this straight that one has the right to read and comment on the comments! You are barking up the wrong tree! 👿

    Just because I leave a comment here does not mean I am forcing others including Jaya to agree to my viewpoint! You are attributing things to me that I did not intend/suggest/write.

    I am sorry for the offence caused to you, just the same.

    So this is also the end from my side unless you express more of your conceited POV! And you have already created a scene here with your vitriolic charges!

    ********************************************************************

    P.S.:

    Dear Ms Jaya,

    I am rather new on this blog and do not know much about the protocol here (if any).

    If you think that Mr. Anupam is valid is justified in calling me in question you are free to edit/delete my comments and censure me. This is ‘your’ blog, needless to say.

    I regret this litany of woes that you have to read but can’t help it. Mr Anupam deserved it in more ways than one!😀 He is a belligerant person who has mood swings, in all probability!

    One moment he said he is having fun and another moment all hell broke loose and he fired on all cylinders!😦

    I will be very careful in writing comments in future on any blog, just the same! I have got a lesson here of course.

    Regards,

    Vikas, New Delhi.

    *******************************************************************

    P.P.S.: Ignore typos, if any. I wrote in a hurry. Good night everyone. Adios Anupam! 😀

    P.P.P.S.: This is my longest ever comment. My previous highest was only three-fourth of its size. Thank heavens I have a good typing speed!
    इति-श्री।

  14. All this while I was thinking that the Pot of Shit was necessary for the kid to wade thru the crowd … and get near to Amitabh
    and
    The blind beggar had heard some foreign couple talking about the Benjamin as 100 dollars …

    Plus when you are ready to suspend the belief of reality, one might be susceptible enough to suspend it just a little more .. and maybe not mind small happenings which could be explained with a little more of luck

    but yeah whether you liked it or not … is your call at the end of the day …

  15. hi jaya,
    nice to go through ur blogs..
    i was just googling abt lucknow, and i got to visit ur blog.
    i didn’t go through all , but only 2 or 3.

    and then when i came through this, i felt as replying to ur blog.

    well, i don’t have much time to answer to all your assumptions and theories in your point of view about the oscar winning movie Slumdog Millionaire.

    so, taking some of my time i just wanted to clear some of your doubts regarding your assumptions.

    well, as i am running out of time, i wud type sentences in hindi in between so as to avoid efficient powerful english sentences to support my hypothesis.
    sorry to say that am weak both in english and hindi, and now without wasting anymore time, lemme cut the crap and start.

    This “slumdog” knows that the picture on the the dollar bill is that of Benjamin Franklin. How? From another blind “slumdog” who is a beggar and has lived even less privileged life than himself. It did not answer the “How” for first “slumdog”. Instead it created a “How” for the second one.

    Well, how do you think the beggars get to know abt gandhi or nehru or bhagat singh when they have never gone to school or never told abt them, well, am not speaking abt all the beggars or slumdog. but in the movie, JAMAL is educated a little and also he was a chaiwala nearby some call center which sounds he is not so far to educated people where one asks him to manage his seat when he is away. of course one would not make him sit without any reason and that too for a chaiwala, that was his majboori dat he became a chaiwala when he had no perfect work to do.
    well, in the movie u should hav thought like d other chap of his group told him abt benjamin franklin who was blind at that time.
    remember there ! that they were made blind after sometime and not immediately after they were made beggars. he might have known it before and told jamal when he met him.
    Jamal in the movie, may think of his first counter of knowing about the benjamin franklin, coz he might hav seen many dollars bill when he was guiding many tourists around delhi or agra or whichever place he has been.
    so this makes the scene is justified and not that overly maked scene.

    Why on earth did our hero need to jump into a pit of shit to know that Amitabh Bachchan was the lead actor in Zanzeer! For God’s sake. Was it a subtle depiction of unhygienic conditions on slums? No, it was a gross depiction of something which I will call “sensationalization of unhygienic conditions and sensibilities of slum dwellers”. Really, there was no need to have a story behind knowing that Amitabh Bachchan was the lead actor in Zanzeer. After all as our “slumdog” himself says – He is the most famous man in India. And unhygienic conditions were depicted very well without this scene.

    Sorry to say that you might have not properly watched the movie.
    It is not that Jamal had to jump into the pit of shit to know whether big B was the hero of zanzeer. but the fact is he jumps into the pit only because he is a big fan of big B and he don’t want to miss the chance of meeting him by person and get an autograph of him and as he was shut from outside by salim, he had no other option left other than jumping into the pit of shit.
    hope, u might feel that, why would someone do something like that.
    well, that is what they call being a fan. maybe u have never faced a real hardcore fan of anyone, but there are people who can do anything to meet their stars. for an example, if u ever want to see such fans, the best place is anywhere in south india.
    well, am gonna tell u precisely where u can.
    hope u might have heard of a name CHIRANJEEVI a tollywood star.
    though he is just a telugu star, people die for him. u can see people stand in the line outside the theatres for the first day of his movie since 12 midnight for the first day morning show. many people get hurt and get hospitalized while lining for the tickets and clothes got toren in the mass.
    well, that is not crazy or madness, but that is something called being a fan and showing their fanship.
    well, this is just an example, there are thousands of examples like this which i can tell you. well it seems you have never been in a fraternity of die hard fans like that which is being shown in the movie.

    Why would the host of a show take it so personally that a person from a humble background is winning the money. If anything, he should be happy. If the “slumdog” wins all the money, it will be great for the TRP of the show and the host should love it.It is not his money anyway. Let the producers and sponsors worry.

    Hahahhaha ! well, not everyone in this world is like yudhisthir dharmraj to give everythign easily. the host of the show takes it personally without letting know others only because of the reason that he don’t want to lose money in his show. of course one would not like to let someone take money away from him like that. If someone is that rich to give away the money, one would make many welfare associations for the people and not making lolly jolly shows only to show off. here in this movie shows that, the host in the show has some links with producer or he himself maybe the producer. of course if big B was the producer himself of the show, who knows he might also have done the same, because i don’t think that big B is big KARNA type of hero to donate money in the shows or is not finding for talents in India. Why would Big B will be the host and producer same time. He would never be the host, if he was a producer. certainly not. It is only because the host of the show wants to earn more money than he gives out from the show(in any means by increasing his TRP of the show or getting more publicity of his show or watever it is). this what reminds ki duniya kitni zalim hai. fokat main bhala kaun kiske liye kyon kuch karega ?? lol ! and why do u think the host should buy jamal’s words that he is a chaiwala who manages to give all right answers in his show. he can be someone who may know the crew team and someone may helping him out to get the answers, who knows ! thats d reason why the host angers on him.
    moral of the story : insaan paidaishi lobhi hota hai……aur woh hamesha fayde ke liye hi kaam karta hai.
    well, UK television show Who want’s to be a millionaire’s hosts didn’t felt bad anything about this which has been running since before kaun banega crorepati. why did only big B felt bad of it??

    What on earth is that mixture doing there? That mixture of language (American English, Indian English, Sophisticated Hinglish and Hindi) looks relevant in the new economy corporate circles, not in the situation the movie is trying to depict.

    dear, it seems u r very bad at watching movies and busy only in writing blogs. come out of your whole busy schedule and watch movies. all you find is the blend in the languages and that is what it fascinates everyone. wat do u think, in all english movies, you find them only in american english or londonian english ????? HUH ! lol !
    babe, if u go through the movies, all u will find is blend of the locality of the places where the movie is being shot and not ONLY american english. if the movie is shot in russia, then it is russian english, similarly, french english, japanese english, philipino english, mexicano english, african english, chinese english, australian english, indian english, pakistani english and so on….
    so, would u complain on all the hollywood movies saying that what the hell in this earth is everyone trying to do ?????? huh !
    thats d flavour of language what one would love to conceive while watching movies and it’s wrong to complain like that.

    The realistic poverty aspect is unimpressive. “So, you don’t like the fact that it shows poors in an attitude of ‘I am poor, but I am happy’. Right?” The fans would immediately ask. Wrong. All I am saying is that the depiction was mediocre.

    well, i totally disagree with your perception. I had never felt anywhere in the movie that it has been depicted off the facts line. you might have never been to slums and never know the facts about slums. it felt like you only don’t want to see someone make this film by an non-indian director. u might have become a big fan of this movie if it is being shot by some indian director.
    it’s only because, indian directors never made that kind of film doesn’t mean that these life don’t exist in real. if you ever visit mumbai make a visit to dharavi or see slums in kolkata. they have been very much nicely depicted which they resembles factful. i have been to many places and had a vicinity of these kind of places and i can say that the movie has done a good job.

    Hope by now, all your doubts regarding this matter has been clarified by now after reading my posts. and u might hav probably knew the fact or reason for winning oscar for this movie.
    it’s only that, u hav never been knowing about the facts of the present india slums or that kind of situations.
    wat i advice u is watch the movie again and have a second thought about that movie, better u do some homework before watching that movie. it will help you understand more about the movie.
    and please don’t hate movies that are being directed by someone outsider about our country, dats a bad thing.
    else, if someone like u think the same way u thinks, then one can say that BLACK GUYS or NEGROS or AFRICANS are having bad time always throughout their existence in this world.

    well, i don’t want to comment more on this.
    i just wanted to talk only on the points that made u felt wrong about this movie and not about changing your ways of perception.
    if u still feel any discrepancies about anything i typed here, i shall be obliged to discuss more about this later.

    well thanx having patience and reaching this line, as this one is a long post of mine as all my posts r never short.

    hope my english is quite understandable coz i am very bad at writing anything.
    well, nice to see ur blog.

    —Bibekanand.

Leave a Reply

