Ergonomics

One thing I had ignored till now was the ergonomics of my office. I have been working off the plastic chair and have been constantly using a small wireless mouse. The mouse is very handy to carry and all, but I guess prolonged usage is not good. Sometime, I would get an ergonomic mouse, but the first thing that needs to be addressed is a chair. So, I am going to purchase a good computer chair.

The new office at Google was designed keeping ergonomics in mind. The chairs were such that besides adjusting the height of the seat (which is most common functionality in any computer chair), you could adjust the height and position of arm-rest. There were also levers for locking backrest at a certain angle (so that if you recline, you are still supporting your lower back) and bunch of other stuff. Within a few of days of usage, it was clear that well designed office does make a difference to your well-being.

However, I can’t indulge that much right away🙂 Heck, they even had funky tabled with adjustable heights. But a decent chair with adjustable seat and arm-rest height is a must. The arm-rest height adjustment was the feature I found I used the most. Not so much the adjustment of back-rest. The idea behind the design of an ergonomic chair is that all the body parts should be well supported. This includes lower back, upper back, arms (the one that pains me the most), shoulders etc. and of course, help you be in a posture that is overall comfortable. Take this last one with a bit of salt though. Sometimes it may happen that you get used to a wrong posture and start finding that comfortable. But it may be doing you slow harm. One such bad habit I had was not supporting my lower back. Rather reclining by supporting upper back and leaving lower back in air! When somebody pointed that out to me, it took a while to adjust to the new posture. But I could feel the change it brought very soon. My back-pain had reduced a lot.

So back to the chair. I started by search by going to, yes, Staples. They showed me two models with arm-chair height adjustment. One also had the levers for recline/back-rest adjustment. This had a price of 8500 Rs. The other one had a smaller back-rest and supported only seat and arm-rest height adjustment. This one was priced at 4500 Rs.

Next, I searched on Just Dial for computer chair dealers. And boy! Do they rock? No I am not talking about the actual search. Rather, they have this leads system (where they charge the businesses for generating the leads). If you search for a keyword for whom they have businesses who have signed up to receive leads, you can choose to receive calls from them making you their best price offers. As soon as I had signed up, I got a call from someone who is actually a manufacturer and supplies to the show-rooms. But given our location, which is close to their warehouse, he was willing to supply us two chairs and the prices he quoted were far less. I am going to check out the chairs tomorrow. I received call from another dealer, who is going to meet me tomorrow. I guess I am going to get a much better deal than I would have managed on my own. Just Dial rocks!

And hey, looks like we’d be done with paper work in another week or so. Then we can concentrate on some of the real business🙂

This entry was posted in Business & Entrepreneurship by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

3 thoughts on “Ergonomics

Leave a Reply

