It seems like a framed story…

but its true. In vain did I wait for the company’s PAN card to arrive for days after 14th April, when it was supposed to have been re-dispatched. For days, I did not go out of house. And then I started putting in big notices outside the house whenever I left even for a minute, which asked the person to look at the letter of authorization given to the security fellow and give the card to him or leave a contact for me to collect it.

Days and weeks went by. My various other forms kept waiting for the card, because all of them needed the copy of the PAN card. I gave up the hope of ever getting it. I started exploring options for reprinting the card. Finally through the friday and saturday, took the pain of filling up the highly unintuitive form online, taking a printout, collecting all the required documents, taking photocopies of each of them, signing and putting seals at the right places with the ink of right colour and …. On sunday, all the DTDC counters I checked were closed. So, I could not dispatch it. I thought it was God’s way of telling me to wait. May be the card is arriving on monday. Was at home until 2 pm today. Finally left for some work and decided to drop the form for reprinting of the card as well. Came back and guess what! Of course, unlike Race and Tashan, the climax here is very predictable. The card was there – with the security – delivered today.

Sigh! Now, I have to figure out if there is an application for for canceling the application form I filled up for reprinting of the card. Meanwhile, on to the next set of paperwork.

This entry was posted in Business & Entrepreneurship by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

Leave a Reply

