Business Card

Got my first set of Business Cards printed today. It turned out that the screen printing does not work if you have multicolour images in your business card. So, digital printing it had to be. And the search started for cheap digital printing for business cards. First a call to Printo. They charge 1.5 Rs. per card for normal paper, if ordered in quantities above 50. For orders below 50 pieces, it is Rs. 2 per card. I went to a printer near my house hoping that it’d be cheaper. He quoted a price above Rs. 2 per card. So, gave up. I tried online and one website was giving an “introductory offer” of 500 business cards at 475 Rs. I was not sure I wanted to print those many, but decided to give it a try. Their image upload process failed miserably across browsers and I came back to real life of offline space. Before going to Printo, I also made a visit to Staples as I had to buy ink-cartridges and some stationary. They have a Print Centre, which also printed at 1.5 Rs. per card. So, got 120 cards printed there.

But I also noticed something interesting there. They were printing it the same way I would print at home. Create multiple copies on a standard size paper and then cut them in size. It was not unexpected, but they weren’t using any sophisticated machine for cutting. It was the same paper cutter that I have at home too!

So, unless somebody can point me to an option I have missed and there is a way to get them printed cheaper, I guess we are going to print Business Cards in-house from now on! I just need to get the right paper from the paper market.

This entry was posted in Business & Entrepreneurship by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

4 thoughts on “Business Card

  1. In India, that’s what they do. I guess this is the effect of the Indian spirit of “jugaad”, for which it is difficult to find an exact English word. But it essentially means getting things done through alternative means, when a direct tool is either not available or not affordable to do it.🙂

  2. Hi,

    First of all, a hearty wish for new beginning.

    On the topic. You can try some low cost bulk passport photo provider/studio. Sometime they get a passport size photo (or equivalent image) for a rs in bulk print. like 30 photo in 30 rs.

    The paper quality is excellent, so it can compensate for if any little extra cost (assuming more area required buss card compared to pp pic).

    Regd

  3. My business creates its own business cards in-house. We use a business card cutter and print the business cards out on our own printer. It is very easy to do. I have also heard of people using stack cutters to create business cards.

Leave a Reply

