So, how was Google?

This post was written a while back, but decided to post it only after my last day.

March 5th is my last day at Google. I have resigned, serving the notice period. I am starting up finally. The usual reactions:

“Oh!”
“Good.”
“Really?”
“Hmm…”
“What? Why?”
“Achchha…”
“Sure – you want to do this?”

Followed by

“So, how was Google?”

“It was a mixed bag” is what I would say. Cliched and diplomatic, as it would sound – this is the truth.

There have been times when I have felt ecstatic in that organization, and there have been times when I have felt totally disillusioned and frustrated. But I haven’t talked about individual experiences in past and I won’t talk about them now or in future.

There are problems in the company (there are reasons I left) but again, I would avoid talking about those. Despite the problems, there are things that are really good about the company and I would like to list down some of those. As and if my company grows, I would like to see these things there too –

  • Nice and Smart People: Yeah – that’s a rare combination. But I have come across several smart, but nice and down to earth people. There have been some in the “smart and not-so-nice category” (and very rarely not-so-smart people), but the general ratio is tilted towards the smart and nice. This is an amazing experience to be with so many smart and nice people.
  • Excellent support staff: Google is known for its Engineering Talent, isn’t it? And free food. What is often not talked about is the excellent staff they have in IT, Facilities, HR, Finance and other support functions. A bad accountant in the company can make the experience miserable for you. Patient, well-behaved and competent support staff creates a positive difference in the work environment engineers experience. And they ensure that you get the nice, free food, massage coupons, timely cab services etc.πŸ™‚
  • Trust in people: Employees are generally trusted. Things are not questioned for the heck of bureaucracy. Once I lost my blackberry and I was given a replacement without any questions asked. People could misuse it, couldn’t they? But they don’t. That’s the beauty, when you have smart and nice people and you trust them!

Being at Google has been like being at IITK for me. When I joined it, I really wanted to join it. When I left, I really wanted to move on. I am happy to have gotten the chance to be there and I feel like I have grown up in the time I was there. I think I have met some wonderful people there. Just like IITK.

So, that was Google from my point of view for you! Not particularly informative, was it?πŸ˜€

This entry was posted in Others by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

Leave a Reply

