More on Jab We Met

I hate to admit it, but the fact is that I have almost gone crazy over this movie. I had heard of people watching a movie 5-10-15 or more number of times, but had never done that myself. I never understood that kind of behavior. There are movies I have liked, liked a lot and would not mind seeing again. But have never felt this urge to watch a movie again and again.

This is the first time when I have really understood the importance of good direction. Heck, there is no story in the movie, but good direction has done it all. And I don’t even wish that it had a better, more complicated, more subtle story. It’d not have remained what it is in that case.

And this is one of the rare occasions where I feel that acting has made the scenes that could have become mundane, very real. I see the scenes again and again, watch the facial expressions and they look perfect all the time. Of the lead characters at least. The last time I felt like this about acting was one scene in a not so well known movie called Ghulam-e-Mustafa. Ravina Tandon remembers her childhood and her mother and how her mother was a strict dance teacher. The acting had made the scene very real. This has happened through out the movie in Jab We Met, especially with Shahid Kapoor.

And this is one time where dialogues have drawn attention for sounding very spontaneous. They don’t have the perfect language and logic. Rather they precisely are what they would be if someone was actually speaking spontaneously.

And this is one time, when I was forced to pay attention to the lyrics of the songs after watching the movie and have come to like the songs extremely well. “Hum jo chalne lage..”, “Aaoge jab tum o sajna”, “Tumse Hi” and “Nagada” are my favourites. “Nagada” may come as a surprise to those who know my taste with music🙂

And finally, this is one time, when I have to admit – the hero was damn cute!😀


Technorati : , ,

This entry was posted in Movies by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

11 thoughts on “More on Jab We Met

  1. But the heroine was not good. Karina is now old enough to come in movies. I saw wrinkles beneath her eyes. She should stop doing movies and get married fast lol.

  2. I hate Kareena. But don’t you worry – I’m not going to give reasons for that here.😀
    Even then I went to see this movie on, as you said, lots of recommendations. At first, I thought it was an OK-types movie. While watching movie, even songs didn’t catch my attention (except ‘ham jo chalne lage’), But now I am addicted to these songs and I was pleasantly surprised to see these on your blog! Badhiya hai🙂. Although seriously, I didn’t expect to see lyrics of these songs (in fact, of any song!) on your blog. You normally have a lot of other things to write about, not to forget your own poems🙂.
    But my view about movie had changed only from ‘ok-types’ to ‘nice’. However after reading your posts, I think I would see it again sometime. It is too good a recommendation to ignore🙂
    -gauraw

  3. Arr… No don’t take the post to mean that I am recommending watching it again and again🙂 I don’t know why I became so obsessed. But yes – I hadn’t noticed the songs the first time I watched it either. But on watching repeatedly, they caught my attention.

  4. according to me its a nice movie n can be seen more than twice.
    botk karina n shahid had play there character beautifully..
    both of them were two gud.
    tum se hi song+lyrics+music was tooooooooooo gud.
    daily i use to hear this song more than 10 times a day still i din get bored

  5. EVEN I LOVED KAREENA’S ROLE AS GEET WHO IS VERY CUTE AND THE MOVIE IN A NICE PLACE CALLED BHATINDA WHICH IS A SMALL TOWN IN PUNJAB. I’M VERY THANKFUL TO GOD AND THE WHOLE HARD-WORKING TEAM OF THE MOVIE JAB WE MET.THANKS A BUNCH TEAM. GOOD FOR YOU AND KEEP UP THE EXCELLENT WORK TEAM!!!!!!!

  6. Pingback: Love Aaj Kal « Miles to go…

Leave a Reply

