Provoked

Don’t know why but I had this very strong desire of seeing a movie in a theater since I have returned from the US. Despite the fact, that I turned down several invitations of watching a movie by friends there.

Despite trying hard on Saturday ended up reaching all the theaters at a wrong time. But finally got to watch Provoked yesterday. One thing is sure. Aishwarya Rai has mastered the art of playing these very feminine characters. As much as I disliked the new Umrao Jaan as a movie, she did her part well. This time, when I had read that she is playing the role of a Punjabi woman in the movie, I was kind of skeptical. Her skinny frame does not seem to fit the stereotype we have of a Punjabi Kudi (someone with a good build – not necessarily overweight or heavy). But she carried it off!

I liked the way character of the two woman, Kiran (Aishwarya) and her mother-in-law has been framed. Their lack of good command over English, as women who have followed the male members of the family to a foreign country, seemed so real. For most part, though, the movie was neither dramatic, nor had any subtleties. It was a nice-to-watch kind though.

This entry was posted in Movies by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

8 thoughts on “Provoked

  1. Dear Jaya;
    I met you in a anual function of AMP in R T Nagar.

    I use to a be regular visitor of your blog to fulfil my literaric apetite. I apprecite your every article but one.

    OK let me give you some background. I understand that you must have gone through books/novel of all important hindi writer. And now I invite you to visit http://vidyapati.blogspot.com/2006/07/blog-post.html
    I am sure you will find this artcle is better than your imagination. And once you finish the article in above link go through the following lines.

    1. Maithili literature is one of the richest language of India.
    2. You have under estimated this language in your series of article on Maithili.
    3. Without offending you, I want to tell you that you could have made it more formal by doing some home work.
    4. The tradition and culture (specially the duty of daughter-in-law) you have mentioned are superficial. (I appreciate you have written your ignorance).
    5. These cultures and rituals are at least 1000 year old. You have rightly said at the time of Vidyapti. The culture is an integral part of any civilization and the culture you have mentioned belongs to the agrarian society of ancient mithila.
    6.A little positive thinking into the subject could have made it very informative for non maithils.

  2. 1. At the outset I have clarified in those articles:
    “How good an authority I am to write about Maithil culture? I dare say, hardly any good.” and “For now I will concentrate on the aspects of Maithil culture, which I have observed, having been born and brought up(?) as a Maithil.” – Yeah. So it is only the aspects I have been able to see and observe that are described in those articles. Its a common man’s (and woman’s) account, if I can call it so and does not intend to go into the heart, soul and deeper meanings of Maithil Culture.

    2. I may not have given too much information about Maithili, because I do not know enough. But have I said anywhere that not enough literature or history exists?

    3. The daughter-in-law stuff was meant to be superficial and light-hearted. Not to say that it is untrue. I do not know how closely you have observed things in rural areas and traditional families, but behaviour does matter a lot! Of course, it was not listing the those dictated-by-Gods duties of a daughter-in-law. Those ultimate ones are guided by the same principles in Maithil society, as in any other patriarchal one and I would have gotten bitter if I really got into that – trust me.

    4. I did not intend to make it more formal precisely because I did not have time to do a research on it. To repeat, it was about what I have observed.

    5. About that stuff – culture belonging to some other century – you are outrightly wrong. In metros, several things are changing, but nothing has been eliminated once you go into the interiors. I have not picked up the stuff from books or hearsay.

    6. I have never been negative about things. I do not believe in taking myself (in this case my culture) too seriously. There are ups and downs everywhere. What you are calling as “positive thinking”, I call as glorification. And I absolutely do not believe in doing that.

    That said – you have all rights to have your negative opinions about my articles. The way I do not take myself and my culture overly seriously, I do not take my writings too seriously either.🙂 The only reason behind writing is that I want to write.

  3. Got no idea what is the movie all about. A glimpse of theme is expected in a review. My expectaions were set upon Anurag Chandra’s reviews (probably you know him). I like Aishwarya as an actor. Had a notion that there are only two types of girls – one who hate Aish, another who very much hate Aish. You seem to be an exception.

  4. Padmanabh ji,

    Discrimination on the based of language is not good. Why should we worry only about Maithili and not Angika. For ex. me being a maithil brahmin my mother tounge is not Maithili, its Angika, perhaps more widely spoken in southern Bihar than Maithili. Maithil speaking ppl r fighitng for another state Mithilanchal, later Angika speaking ppl will fight for another state Angikanchal. What is this? Bihar is already divided. Lost all the industries to Jharkhand.

    Hindi is the only language has power to unite India. The more you cry for local languages, it will increase linguistic discrimination and will result into further subdivision.

  5. About the daughter-in-law stuff wat you have written is word by word true bcoz i have not listen or observed but experienced the same after my marriage, so Dr. Mishra may say it superficial without experiencing the same:) Well described Jaya.

Leave a Reply

