Interpreter of Maladies

Amidst all the business, I managed to read Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri.

And it was indeed fantastic. What I really liked about it was that its tone was never derogatory towards its characters even by mistake, which is a trap so easy to fall into, given the kind. Of characters she is depicting. Mostly immigrants and their cultural crisis. Instead she sympathizes with them really well. Her characters are very real and pleasing, despite the issues with their lives. I know “real characters” is so often used a phrase that it can almost be called misused.But I really mean it here.And pleasing? That’s kind of difficult to explain. Probably because of their genuineness. Probably because their depiction is so honest that you feel good about yourself – that confusions, crises are not solely your problems.

I am waiting to buy her other book.

This entry was posted in Literature by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

6 thoughts on “Interpreter of Maladies

  1. Hi Jaya,

    Namesake is good but Interpreter of Maladies is closer to me. The same magic appears in both but the first story made the difference.
    Neways, life is going on and on.. No time for breaks. So I just got bored .. Took a day off.
    An interesting event was there. I was thinking that it is your blog and I left some comments there.
    Your wordpress blog wasn’t working from here.
    I am sure you would like to know another Jaya Jha. I liked her blog for it is very close to what I go through rather than about what I think and what makes me suffer. Specially the “Zindagi Rocks”.. I felt like I am writing that. It is just second time I felt that.. Both times with Jaya Jha..:)🙂
    I am giving the url here. Just the reply from the person made me think that it is not you. So many similarities were there.

    IF you can find time, you can visit it.

    http://jhajaya.blogspot.com/search?q=rocks

    OK then.. bye CIAO..sayonara.. Do take care.

    Keep smiling.
    Vatsal

  2. When I read “Interpreter..” about 5/6 years back, I didn’t quite identify with it and treated it as just another book. However, I read “The Namesake” recently and found it to be VERY moving. Probably because I could relate to every page in the first quarter of the book. Also because of sharing a context of acclimatization with a foreign country, with a few characters of the book. I would recommend reading it.

  3. > I am waiting to buy her other book.

    Was bowled over once by Bach and bought almost all his books. Well, about half of the bunch was disappointing.

    I blame it on being young then.

Leave a Reply

