On the other side of the table

I am now on the other side of the table. Yeah I have interviewed peole and I will interview more people. Now do not ask me what I felt when I walked in to take one of these initial interviews, started introducing myself, and was promptly interrupted by the candidate. Why? The honest chap told me that he knows about me because he reads my blog!!! As a good interviewer you are supposed to make the candidate feel comfortable etc. Well the fact was that I needed some comforting then. The thought in my mind was what all have I written in my blog criticizing all those ppters and interviewers🙂

Its kind of awkward. You end up asking questions you ridiculed. One good thing about google’s process is rigour. That way the chances of error are reduced. At least certainly the kind of errors where you wonder how could that guy get in to that company. He just does not have it in him. You can be lucky one time, you can bluff away your way one time – not several. I saw it happening too. So for all the faults of selection process, rigour seems to be working a bit. Of course, in some cases, this may still mean that you reject a good candidate. Unfortunate for the individual. But who said life is fair. I did not.🙂

This entry was posted in Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

8 thoughts on “On the other side of the table

  1. Interesting take on interviewing…given my profession I have been ‘on the other side of the table’ often and my emotions have ranged from being bored,disgusted,confused,self-conscious to simply ‘aha’!

  2. Only one doubt:
    If you loose a good candidate whose loss it is?
    Don’t know..whether an individual should be given so much importance. I think I do give.
    I had taken the interview once.. and it was a torture for me. Expectation reduces joy..(Art Of Living)..:):)

  3. > If you loose a good candidate whose loss it is?

    At the cost of sacrificing humbleness I mention this. Every time I lost out on a job I really wanted, which I thought I would do really well at, I was consoled by the well-wishers that it was their loss. And believe it or not it has happened quite a few times. Any of their losses certainly did not seemed like a gain for me. I do not see any of companies closing down in near future either😉 In fact most of them are flourishing. Hardly a satisfactory situation, isn’t it?🙂

    But this side or that side of the table, I know that’s how it is – unfortunate, but true.

    On a side note, however, today I am happy person in this regard. I got the job I was really interested in doing and am happy doing it.

  4. Being on the other side of the table wasn’t a pleasant one in the initial phase for me. I started talking within an year after passing out with a Masters degree in computers and some experience gained from HR professors (thanks to ITC HR head for guidance). Now it is almost 3 years and may be I will also be in the interview panel for B-School admission for AIMK this year. Now I am loving it.

    Btw I came to know about this blog from Inferno Blog Hunt.

  5. I think nobody is going to be in loss. Neither companies are short of talents nor talents are short of companies. It was a question without any reasoning from my side.
    An Individual do matters but when he thinks of himself not about the companies he work for. If working in any company would have changed me.. I wouldn’t have liked myself like I do now.
    Dont know .. I can’t give a generalized statement. I dont want to.
    As an interviewer one should try not to loose a liable candidate as that’s what he is there for.

    bye..( Bad mood today.. ):(

    KhudaHafiz.

  6. Yup, heard a lot about the rigour in Google’s hiring processes. I guess it would be easier to start a business and then get acquired by them.

    I kid, I kid😉

    cheers
    nilesh

Leave a Reply

