A milestone achieved…

A job change (not again!)? A promotion? A raise (not so soon)? An engagement? A wedding? A baby born to a relative?

No, none of these. But a milestone has been achieved in my life today. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, the cooking gas cylinder which served me for 8 long months in Bangalore finally ran out of gas today. It had to be refilled. So, in last eight months I have cooked enough to exhaust one gas cylinder. Would you classify me as en experienced cook? Of course, you have to adjust for the full fledged cooking done by mom for almost 12-13 days during her stay here and similar thing done by a relative for almost 10 days. But still…

I will miss that first gas cylinder of my life. It made people look surprised! At the mention that it has been going on and on ever since I got it soon after coming to Bangalore. It made my mom ask almost everytime towards the end of our weekly telephone conversation,”And your cylinder? It’s still going on?” It made the helpful friend, who wanted to give away his two cylinders to me, say, “Probably I’ll give them to someone else. You do not seem to need them.” Its gone friends – after accompanying me for 8 complete months and probably a little more…

And the time it chose to go off. Friends were visiting. I was all enthu to display my cooking skills and had put in hordes of potatoes to boil in pressure cooker. Meanwhile, had started making dough of the flour. And showing a complete disregard for the extreme inconvenience of situation, it went off. No potatoes boiled, no pooris made! Thanks to friendly neighbours, cooking still went on. But the gas cylinder, dear readers – it went off in its own style – arrogant, proud, uncaring, unreliable… And in the 8 long months, I had almost forgotten that I may have to get it refilled😦

The world is not worth trusting. What has happened is not an indicator of what is going to happen. Too bad!

😀

This entry was posted in Bangalore, Time Pass by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

7 thoughts on “A milestone achieved…

  1. Hi Jaya..I got the link to your blog from Mayanand’s, I must say your writings are very interesting…read some of ur moviews before too .. keep writing!🙂

  2. Anjan Gali Anjan dagar , Na janu main yah kaun magar
    mai hoo jiski talash me, mil jaye wo abhi agar……..
    ya duniya khwabo ka hai…

Leave a Reply

