A musical evening…

It was after years that I realized the relaxing effects of music. Yes – years. Good poetry crafted in soothing music, and having time to concentrate on just that. Haven’t known it in years. Not since the days when I used to learn music and there were times, when there was just that around you. In my college life the popular musical feats were too full of things I did not like. Loud music, meaningless or shallow lyrics, only occasionally having the things I liked. And somewhere in the race of life, I missed out on the moments of respite SPICMACAY programmes could have provided. I regret that. And particularly so today. Had and still have a huge collection of music of my liking on my computer. But in that, the concentration part was missing. Being the kind of person I am, it was almost impossible for me to leave everything aside and just listen to the music. It never happened. Its never will happen. I will continue to find things to do while the computer is playing music.

Today in Jagjit Singh’s concert, the bliss was recreated. I think my experience with live concerts was pretty much NIL. Except for the programmes by some of the musical bands that came to IITK and IIML. As I said, they were too full of things I did not like. So, never stayed through them for long. (Of course, not that it helped much. With that wretchedly loud music and a bit too effective speakers, there was little you could avoid so long as you are in the campus and even few kilometers around it.

But anyway. Coming back to today’s musical evening. It started off with this. And then went on. One after the other. Post interval, it only went from good to better and some of the all time favourites were sung by him. It was a wonderful feeling to have left everything out and just be in that. I wish I am able to make it to more such events. It should do some good to my mental health🙂 (No, no – do not worry. I am not mentally challenged as of now :P).

Artist’s arrogance was pretty much there. With him being quite rude about the sound system settings and once commenting upon (of all the things) lights on the stage. He wanted the lights to be changed. When they were changed he was still like, “कोई और Light नहीं है?” I don’t know. May be there are valid reasons. May be I am nowhere close to being like an artist. But I wish some of this unnecessary display of arrogance could be done away with.

There was one thing I missed. There was almost no communication with the audience. I think the show would have better been named “Jagjit Singh Non-Stop”, rather than “Jagjit Singh Face to Face”. Probably one the biggest attractions for fans of a live show is that they get to see a more human face of the person they admire. So, when an almost revered singer talks about incidents related to a song, or cracks jokes, audience gets to see a non-God-like, and more of “like-me” kind of person there. That’s the charm. He did not do anything like that. Only once was there an attempt to crack a joke and it was well received. Some people may want to discredit this idea by saying that artists need not (and possible should not) care to have showmanship. They may not be completely wrong. But I would say that you need not have showmanship for doing this. You can connect to the audience by simply being a human once in a while.

There was another interesting thing I noticed. Possibly for those who go to such events frequently, its not such a news. But as a first timer, I really found it a good thing. The main artist gave opportunity to those accompanying him on various instruments to exclusively showcase their talents several times. And this was done without breaking the flow of things. And yes – they were really good and at times invited rightly deserved loud applauds from the audience.


Technorati : , , , ,

This entry was posted in Bangalore, Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

6 thoughts on “A musical evening…

  1. The main difference between a recording and a live performance is the amount of freedom available to the artist. There is no limitation of completing a ghazal in 5-6 minutes, for example. Consequently, the live version is often embellished by the artist’s improvisations, extended classical taan-s etc. It gives you a great idea of how much more can be done to adorn those same words. My own experience of a Jagjit Singh concert in Ahmedabad was excellent. He also engaged the audience and, in some of his popular favourites, encouraged them to sing along (although this is not always a great thing🙂 ).

  2. yeah, music is always the best way to relax oneself. Though I never attended any concert other than carnatic, I feel a live concert is more absorbing than a recorded one.

  3. Generally many artists are moody & eccentric. Also they are also human beings. Sometimes, they are also upset due to various reasons. They are creative & sometimes do things which nobody does. Kishore kumar is another example. Though we expect artists to be something like like….
    I feel we should excuse them not to confirm to standards for general junta. Just my opinion.
    Anyway, found your blog quite interesting. Particularly, it was nice to know that still hindi literature is reverred by highly educated hindi people.
    Thanks

  4. Hi Jaya,

    I’m Priyanshu and from B’lore, well i had popularised you in a way in my frndz circle, I have a frnd by the same name Jaya, she is also a poet and a writer, so when I first read ur blogs, i thought, u r the other Jaya, so i shared the link with my frndz, later i came to know, u r someone else,. Btw nice poems , i loved them

    .. And abt Jagjit concert, i too was there, ya his rudeness is well known, but i have no complains on his non stop singing, what else can u want from him in a concert,rather than audience interacting with them and wasting time(my views).
    Visit my blog, i too have written abt that evening.
    Do Leave a comment, will like to hear from you

  5. jagjit singh has always been a arrogant performer who doesn’t perform if his whisky is not provide to him before the concert (and his money too :)).

    he does sound like a non-stop tape even in live performances (i’ve been to 2 or 3 such performances).

    don’t really consider him a good ghazal singer anymore – he is more into pleasing the crowd with punjabi songs – mehdi hassan, ghulam ali …now we are talking about ghazals…

Leave a Reply

