Never again…

shall I accept to reach a new place at a short notice. There were several small things to be done this weekend and by 5 or so in the evening, they were all done. Fairly satisfactory day. Had nothing else to do. Decided to watch “Do Beegha Zameen” whose CD was lying with me. Pretty much into the movie, when I received a call from Prashant Bhaiya asking whether I would want to go for a play in St. John’s auditorium. He had got two tickets booked through a friend, but could not use it anymore. Although the time was limited, but since I could start straight away, I decided to game for it. Called up a friend to find out the location and it seemed fairly straight forward to reach there. It is opposite to BDA complex on Inner Ring Road (Koramangala). So, I confirmed with his friend and started on. It was all right and I located BDA. There would have to be a “U” turn somewhere, bit since it was almost time, I decided to park near BDA and cross the road. It was all right till then and then I made the mistake. I was unable to see any board of the auditorium on the other side of the road. So, I decided to confirm with an auto-wallah (on other occasions I have always found them to be the safe bet for taking directions). And he asked me to take right after going straight for a while. I thought the entrance would be from some other direction and took the way. But it was after asking two more people on the way and further taking the directions that I realized that all of them were sending me to St. John’s hospital. And guess what. I was afraid this might happen. So, with all of them I had confirmed after taking the direction that it was for the auditorium!!! Then on the way just escaped an accident on a dark street. The way it happened that even I had to believe that it was my fault and I said sorry to the other person who was shouting and all. But was really wondering as to how I missed the other vehicle if it was so close. Only later did I realize that the idiot hadn’t switched on his bike’s headlight on that totally dark road… And damn! He got away by shouting at me and eliciting an apology too. Well yes, I do feel like an idiot thinking of that.Thankfully, I had messaged the person who was waiting for me to get in and she had left my ticket with a volunteer, else I would have felt guilty about making her miss the play too. Anyway – through all this, I reached the hospital and asked about the auditorium. They gave me the direction all right – but it turned out that I had to take the service road and not main road to take the left turn that was needed. Grr… At the crossing the signal was green and I decided the wrong thing in the hurry and went straight. Terrible. It was a one way and I had no idea as to where I was going. But there appeared to be a way on the other side of the road too, though I was not sure, why there was no traffic on it. Anyway, I risked a “U” turn and when I reached back at the crossing I realized that I had done the wrong thing yet again. Going to the main road from there was not allowed!! Stayed there for a while like a fool (as if there was an option!). And then the traffic police waalah. “Entry is prohibited on this road, madam.” Ahem! “I am sorry, but I did not know.” “Don’t you see it is written there?” Well! Firstly I did not enter it from the place where it was written. And then, the way it was written – that small board in a dark corner – I wonder who would notice it. But anyway. Arguing with him would have been another disastrous step from my side. I just managed to convert my irritated expression into a guilty one and asked him as to how do I get back on the main road. Lo! I have to go back on that road – go to Madiwala – take thousands of turns to complete the quadrilateral and then get back on main road. Another right decision – I decided to oblige him. At that he relented and told me that for this time I can go straight on the main road. Ah! I got back. Took a “U” turn from the next place I could. I still could not locate the board of the auditorium, but I suppose I knew the place now. Still I was so ridiculously late and in such a bad mood that I decided to come back home.

If only I had taken the right decision in the beginning, I would either have been enjoying the play or “Do Beegha Zameen” instead of writing this cribbing post.

I have more woes against the Bangalore roads, traffic and traffic-police. But that later. And yeah – I know I am not alone. Still…

This entry was posted in Bangalore, Cribbings by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

3 thoughts on “Never again…

  1. Switch off the lights, start a decent romantic movie,late in night,or read a book especially on relationships like..Men are from mars…etc…instead…that horrible unsafe road show especially in night!!…Main mar jaanwa bike chala ke!!

    Take care

    Duffer

Leave a Reply

