Miscellaneous

I do not know why I have not written anything for quite sometime. I am not overworked. Though computer and network are not available at home, with the mobility a 2-wheeler has provided me (and hence I do not have to worry about whether I will get an auto to go back home if I am a little late) staying in office and blogging are a very viable possibility. Still, it isn’t happening.

For a while, in fact, it appeared as if I wasn’t thinking about anything worth writing at all. I tried to write about some of the things for a different purpose and it was as if some mental blockage had come in. The incomplete first sentence of the article remained on my desktop for more than a day when I finally decided to delete the file, as it wasn’t going anywhere. But for last couple of days, I felt like things were coming to my mind. Not all profound, but some general tidbits that have often found their place in this blog. But I realized that I was not feeling like writing. Even now, I am getting distracted while writing. This almost shocks me. While I have always been prone to getting bored of anything and everything I started doing, it never happened with writing. Medium changed, language changed, but writing was always a stress-reliever, a good time-pass, an effective outlet and a nice exercise for whatever creative faculties I possess.

Is it that what Karishma had speculated long back about office environment not being suitable for blogging/writing was rather correct? May be. I am trying to find some viable (even if temporary) way of getting a computer and connection at home. But other reason could be just plain inertia. The time when I felt the mental blockage might have been long enough to create an inertia. Let’s see if this post helps in overcoming that.

Now, since this post is titled “Miscellaneous”, it won’t do to talk about just one thing here. So, let me recall some of the things I have been thinking about recently.

First is about riding a 2-wheeler. I am new to it and ride it extremely cautiously (I am not going to make public the speed at which I ride :D). Bangalore traffic offers no consolation in this regard anyway. The funniest part of it is the feeling I get at the crossings with no traffic lights/police. It is like a jungle raj. From whichever side the traffic starts flowing, it keeps on doing so till somebody from the other side takes chances and pushes his/her way through it. Its about which side’s “front-line” is able to make the move first. So, if you are in the front, you almost have a responsibility towards those behind you in the jam. You can not let them down by letting the other side get too much of “traffic time”. Of course, I shy from such responsibility and try to keep myself in a position where the responsibility falls on some other shoulders.😀 And I am dead sure there are people who like it. So, why not let them go ahead. Biggest let down happens if those in front of you have been able to pass through and it is while you had to go ahead that the other side is able to make its entry. You almost feel you have let down your side and now they have to wait, which would not happened but for your folly.

Anyway, I suppose I do not need to explain that all of the above is the mental analogy I draw of the situation. The others may or may not think so much about it.😛

My tryst with Banking industry of the country continues. After the previous ICICI fiasco, I did get an account with SBI. And no, it does not seem like you have to go the old-fashioned way of banking. They have ATMs & they have Internet banking facility in the branch close to my office. Great! Getting an account was not much of a hassle, except that everything you would need seemed to take forever to come by post. So, you have to fill up separate forms to get ATM and Internet Banking account. ATM came soon enough, though they can issue a PIN only after two working days, because “PIN will come to the branch by a separate post. And there is the minimum delay of two days”. And Internet Banking? “User name and password will come by separate posts, after I fill up the form”… Okay. “Within 10-12 business days”. I wait for over a month and then go to the branch. “We have sent the request. It should reach at your communication address.” But I have waited for more than a month. “Ma’m, you please come back if it does not come in two more days.” Darn… You hardly would put hopes on two more days after waiting for a month for what was supposed to take 10 days. Anyway, I wait for two more days and dart in again. Now, this person issues me an user-id/password on the spot. But not before sending me back and asking me to come after half an hour or so. Excuse me?? If you could issue it from the branch itself, why all this nuisance of waiting for the post and all. But “you will be given only viewing rights for the time being. Once you login successfully, please give me another letter for giving you transaction rights. Then I will enable it.” What the hell!! But anyway. At least I do not have to run to the ATM to see if my salary cheque has been cleared. For the time being viewing rights will do. Only problem was that whatever rights he gave me, I was not able to login with that.

Access rights assigned to your role may not be applicable for this site.

Sigh! Life isn’t that simple, you know. Anyway, before I make next visit to the branch there is a post in my name and it has a password for online banking of SBI. Umm.. What’s that now? May be I should just wait for the user id to come and see if this one works after all. Few more days pass this way and then I also receive my user-id. I rush upstairs and try to login. Wow! It seemed to be working. You are supposed to change your user-id and password on the first login. I do that and am waiting anxiously for it to show my account details. And phew!

You do not have any accounts mapped to this username. Please contact your branch.

Now, it isn’t too difficult to see what would have happened technically. When the branch issued me a user-id, my account would have been “de-mapped” from this one. But understanding does not take away frustration. Here I am with two user-ids and still unable to do anything with Internet Banking!! Well, I rush to the branch again. The person responsible looks clueless. But he is helpful at least. He ventures into the system. Looks around, does something and then says I should check it the next day. “You will be given only viewing rights for the time being…” Oh no! That’s precisely what you did last time and it did not work. Please give me all the rights I am entitled to. I do not want to be doing all the running around. No, it turns out that instead of authorizing my request last time somebody had deleted it. Grrr… “Somebody” should be held responsible for all the hassle I am facing. I missed the point of checking it the next day. I came to the office, tried to login, encountered the same problem. Without losing time I rushed back to the branch. The person seems amused by now. “It takes 24 hours for authorization to be done. You please check tomorrow.” I am not sure. I will have to come back again. He assures me and asks me to call up if there is a problem. I take down the name and phone number.

Finally, though, things appear to be working all right. Next I can “view” things, though not transact. Before the issue cools off, I decide to get done with it. I go to the branch. This time the person sees me and is almost intimidated. “Did it work?”, he asks in an unsure fashion. When I replied positively, he looked so much more relaxed that I was when I saw it working. He let out a loud laughter, “I thought it still did not work seeing the way you rushed in.” Well, I am not so amused. Now, will he please give me the much awaited transaction rights too. Of course, he will. But I must try it tomorrow. Another 24 hours for another authorization!! When I had started writing this post, it had not been activated, but now it is… So, I suppose I am arrived now. I have all possible facilities as a bank customer. If all this running around has helped me lose even a bit of fat, I would consider it worthwhile…😀

Meanwhile, I have made another attempt for getting an ICICI account. For last 5 days, the DSA who was supposed to contact me in two business days is nowhere in sight.

Living in a locality where the local people, including land lord, apartment security guard and maids have not yet adapted to having outsiders around has its own set of amusements and problems. The worse one is that you can not even shout at anyone, if you are angry. They won’t understand anything other than Tamil and Kannada😦 So, there is no way I can blast the maid for being irregular😦 You feel like making a fool of yourself if you shout and the other person is looking at you in amazement!!

But not everything is bad with life. Converting my pre-paid reliance connection to post-paid was quite convenient. The STD activation eluded me for a while. The customer care number gave me all the options related to pre-paid and not post-paid. Then as suggested by Nishit, I just picked up any of the choices and ultimately talked to an operator, who transferred my call to post-paid department and thankfully, it was done. The customer care representative also explained to me (on being asked of course) that the choices I am getting are of pre-paid because my number has just been converted from pre-paid to post-paid and the systems have not been updated yet. Fair enough! PAN card was another thing that happened quite fast. Somehow, life here has been such that when something gets done without any glitch I just *have* to say “wow!”. And when I received my PAN card, I involuntarily uttered “Certain things do get done in time”.

This entry was posted in Others, Time Pass by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

9 thoughts on “Miscellaneous

  1. I did not have any problems with opening an ICICI corporate (i.e. salary) account. So the problem is more of inconsistent customer experience rather than the bank being impartially inefficient.

    PAN cards used to take ages to come when the I-T dept. did all the issuing and dispatching. In fact, I had to apply twice and waited in vain. Now, with the coming of UTITSL into the picture, you get your card in three weeks flat.

  2. Salary accounts are a totally different ballgame. They are not at all a hassle. It is the saving bank account that I am talking about. And of course, I can not claim that everyone will have the same experience. May be I am just caught at the wrong time🙂

  3. Too good decription of the bangalore traffic !!….i feel exactly the same way at traffic signals…especially the crossing near HDFC bank at CMH road is the one which most aptly corraborates your story of not letting down ppl of your side :D……

    couple of points to add…even at cross roads where u have traffic lights u dare not start moving as soon as the signal turns green because ppl from other side where signal was green previously would continue moving for sometime even after their side of signal has turned red !!……

  4. Well on the other hand if you do not start moving as soon as the signal turns yellow/orange (not even green), those behind you will give you dirty looks and continuous horns for delaying them😀

  5. I am a great fan of you. your writing skills are excellent, but I think while writing, you do some short of imaginations because how come a person always stumble across such problems.because i don’t find any problem while doing same.Sorry in advance if it hurts.

  6. “The bullshit self o’ mine…”

    Bliss I hunt for; contentment I question a lot,
    Answers to them, I crave to find,
    My mind calls a halt, when, locates no wisdom to retort,
    The whole just in vain; amid, no answer, of even the inexact kind

    Running aimlessly, got me tired,
    I’m conqueror of the entire nothing,
    Life, it seems, shall soon have me fired…
    I yearn for, I crave not to moan yet sing…
    Please! Exhilaration and glee I could carry, if someone can wring.

    My past shall my future find in it,
    The present invites no question though;
    Life crawls by pieces and bit,
    It creeps, struggles, moves at a snail’s pace, gathers humiliation, too fast but too slow.

    I ask to you, yes YOU, the all-powerful,
    What did you give for, if it was to take away??
    Left with so many, but not her, not the she, for whom do I drool??
    Whom do I talk nonsense and bullshit to, there isn’t she to say.

    Even after you, I’ve spent moments with you,
    Have had felt you, touched you, kept my promise, took you on a date;
    Can’t stand, so I abhor, being disgusted for this to do,
    Negotiating & finding the middle ground; in me, compromising is what I hate.
    Besides me, whom do I escalate my inside to??

    Being misunderstood, a gift from you time after time I’ve received,
    Is not like it gives the impression of, mirror must have grown hair grey in sun,
    The unforgiving all, it’s a pale world, memories else are going pallid,
    Shattered are my days and damaged nights; unlike the necklace I wish, still if you’ve kept o’’ mine.

    Faded rises the sun, still turning dim when goes down,
    Screams my soulful eyes, me is the evidence, shines bright the moon beam,
    Some trust I had asked for, had you have it shown,
    Insomniac nights I now spend, wakeful darkness, yet so full of dreams

    Isolation and no company surround me,
    I the visitor, I my guest,
    Many o’ my virtual pals, but there is no she,
    I find out to find, I is the host.

    Tight I try, hold the time,
    You’ll linger in me, with me; forever and a day, you, I’ll adore,
    The times of joy and ecstasy go lost; it’s no fiction, time has ever been sublime.
    Empty handed, I’m hit upon and yet again, bliss I hunt for… her kiss I hunt for…

  7. Thy Dignitary, Ms. Jaya Jha,

    Well, Well! Interest is a matter of virtue to me and I prefer to preserve it as much as not to “not waste but misuse” on. Whilst sarcasm is one of my some more virtues, I would mean to be wholeheartedly true and honest to pay you my many congratulations on stealing a lot many heaps of my interest. After scanning multiple pages of the web under your named possession, there’s a massive bunch of what I felt, observed, discovered, imagined, tried to analyze and predict.

    While grappling some sort of unbound satisfaction for and of my own self, for having to somehow reach your blog and skimming through, I had accrued many thoughts to pen down, but because I’ve known myself being extremely sharp at loosing memory and lazy at preserving thoughts, I hardly have much left to say to you right now when I just got tired of reading and decided to leave a reply (though I don’t prefer to leave such replies but communicate)… But I be of the opinion that it was really an experience as adventurous as exploring a mystic peak and ultimately resulting into happiness and self-satisfaction.

    “I am, but just a random visitor… though for some days now!” After reading quite some, in here, about you; I now feel that I’ve started knowing a person really worth knowing. Take that as a compliment, ma’m, as I hardly develop interest in strangers, especially people who have got a propensity to brag about in public. But you’ve stood different from them; you’ve brought to my understanding a different meaning of bloggers.

    Anyways, briefly, I’m a Sr. Content Editor with a B2B portal in the international market square; Just in the recent past, had managed to crack into google, but then, decided not to join there.

    Had quite some to write,
    But have quite nothing to say no more.
    Alas! It is, this nature to love a writer,
    For; being a writer, to be loved by a writer…

    Well, I do write poetry, am pasting down one work o’ mine…
    I hope you allow it’s capability to stand in place near you,
    Prefer to read it once at least,
    No doubts for your lettering ability, but writing I still shall pursue.

    Here you go…

    “The bullshit self o’ mine…”

    Bliss I hunt for; contentment I question a lot,
    Answers to them, I crave to find,
    My mind calls a halt, when, locates no wisdom to retort,
    The whole just in vain; amid, no answer, of even the inexact kind

    Running aimlessly, got me tired,
    I’m conqueror of the entire nothing,
    Life, it seems, shall soon have me fired…
    I yearn for, I crave not to moan yet sing…
    Please! Exhilaration and glee I could carry, if someone can wring.

    My past shall my future find in it,
    The present invites no question though;
    Life crawls by pieces and bit,
    It creeps, struggles, moves at a snail’s pace, gathers humiliation, too fast but too slow.

    I ask to you, yes YOU, the all-powerful,
    What did you give for, if it was to take away??
    Left with so many, but not her, not the she, for whom do I drool??
    Whom do I talk nonsense and bullshit to, there isn’t she to say.

    Even after you, I’ve spent moments with you,
    Have had felt you, touched you, kept my promise, took you on a date;
    Can’t stand, so I abhor, being disgusted for this to do,
    Negotiating & finding the middle ground; in me, compromising is what I hate.
    Besides me, whom do I escalate my inside to??

    Being misunderstood, a gift from you time after time I’ve received,
    Is not like it gives the impression of, mirror must have grown hair grey in sun,
    The unforgiving all, it’s a pale world, memories else are going pallid,
    Shattered are my days and damaged nights; unlike the necklace I wish, still if you’ve kept o’’ mine.

    Faded rises the sun, still turning dim when goes down,
    Screams my soulful eyes, me is the evidence, shines bright the moon beam,
    Some trust I had asked for, had you have it shown,
    Insomniac nights I now spend, wakeful darkness, yet so full of dreams

    Isolation and no company surround me,
    I the visitor, I my guest,
    Many o’ my virtual pals, but there is no she,
    I find out to find, I is the host.

    Tight I try, hold the time,
    You’ll linger in me, with me; forever and a day, you, I’ll adore,
    The times of joy and ecstasy go lost; it’s no fiction, time has ever been sublime.
    Empty handed, I’m hit upon and yet again, bliss I hunt for… her kiss I hunt for…

    So, “Find-Possess-Spread PEACE”…God Bless all…!!!

  8. I don’t think you are enjoying all the rights of an account holder even now.
    Have you activated MOBILE BANKING :p 😉

Leave a Reply

