Google Pages

Well, could not help posting this one. Google Pages disappointed me. It is plain old website hosting with an “easy HTML editor”. I would have expected Google to add more value by having something akin to a simple content management system, where I could choose a template, so that navigation links and consistency of look and feel in my website would not be my headache. And yes, ensure that you do not make an website with your primary GMail account. Its a source of spam because the URL has your login name in it.

One positive is that since it is Google, I do not expect it to disappear over night, as some of the other “free and ad-free” hosts have done in past.

So, better here than at atgig. Its likely to take sometime though.

Technorati : , , ,

This entry was posted in Technology by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

5 thoughts on “Google Pages

  1. Got a google page created for myself with my main account. I saw this warning too late. The problem though has been one of not knowing what to put on web page.

  2. I too complained the same for google pages but its recently I understood their motive behind. They follow KISS rule as always.

    Have a look at my page. I know its not any wonderful work but then being basic it teased me a lot for long. But now I realize personal things demands simplicity. Google Pages are meant not from a developer’s perspective but from a basic user’s view.

    I managed lots of web pages on various free severs but this one seems to last for longest and the best so far just for the simple fact Its stable, free, connected to several Gmail utilities and guarantees to evolve like google always does🙂.

Leave a Reply

