I want to work

“Mujhe shaadi nahin karni hai, mujhe naukri karni hai…” (I do not want to get married, I want to work) – that’s the biggest dream several girls in this country have in their childhood. With time it lapses into obscurity for a large number of them. Some make it and today, on the first day at the first job (ignoring the internships), I can not help smiling over the feeling that how simplistic the dream was when it was first conceived. Nevertheless it feels good to find that it has been achieved (I am emphasizing on the second part of it, first part comes only from the context in which it was usually expressed😀. Do not blame me for inconsistency if I get married someday :)) ).

“Mujhe shaadi nahin karni hai, mujhe naukri karni hai…” (I do not want to get married, I want to work) – that’s the biggest dream several girls in this country have in their childhood. With time it lapses into obscurity for a large number of them. Some make it and today, on the first day at the first job (ignoring the internships), I can not help smiling over the feeling that how simplistic the dream was when it was first conceived. Nevertheless it feels good to find that it has been achieved (I am emphasizing on the second part of it, first part comes only from the context in which it was usually expressed😀. Do not blame me for inconsistency if I get married someday :)) ).

The circumstances are such that it does not look that big a dream and it did when conceived, but then that’s how the life is, right?

The last few days have generated a lot of things I would want to write about. Let me see how much can I really manage. The new life brings with itself new constraints. But one thing I want to strive for is that I do not stop writing… Let me hope I am successful.

This entry was posted in Bangalore, Feminism, Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

6 thoughts on “I want to work

  1. Hi Jaya,
    The day, 14 march, I started reading your blog, you stopped writing, was thinking whether my presence is so unlucky. Thanks god. You are back. I will be reading your fresh though now.

    Keep writing.

    Ram Manohar

  2. I see and only see men who want to enjoy the double income. In fact in Urban India, it is IMPERATIVE for women to work, in order to be a better marriage proposal.

    It looks as if men have adjusted with a cunning knack to the feminist demands.

Leave a Reply

