Google Wonders

I know I am writing a little late about it and there is little novelty that I can add. But what the heck! I will write anyway because I have been planning to write for quite sometime and I want to write about it.

The introduction of GMail archives in GTalk and the advent of GMail chat are brilliant innovations. This is what you can call outsmarting the customers. Its not what customers say they want that you deliver, its what they need. I always wanted archives in GTalk, but never thought of the integration with GMail which is infinitely more convenient. But some people may still want the bility to save the archives on their hard disk. Probably an option to do so would have been good. I, personally, am happy with archives on GMail though. And yes, by saving histories on GMail and displaying ads next to them just like in case of the e-mails, they have been able to extend their ad-based business model to Instant Messaging also. Customer and Business needs were never so streamlined🙂 Similarly GMail chat has made being online so convenient. Especially if you are on a network where keeping IM clients connected is a pain (as is the case with me), it’s a boon. If you are logged into GMail chat, your friends would not need to be irritated to suddenly find you offline on GTalk, while you have not realized what has happened and wondering as to why aren’t they replying to you!!

Another thing I always thought Google should do is to release an e-mail client based on their GMail interface. I really love their interface with labels, Google search facility and conversation-view. I would love to see, say even the mails in my IIML account in that format. Right now I have to auto-forward all of them to my GMail account. Having a client which could fetch it directly from the local server would have been really good. To some extent they are doing it with campus programmes like this. But it isn’t all right. I have to wait till my university decides to go for it and not all of the may have an incentive to do that. Also I would like to have the Google interface even for my office mails once I join the job. Meaning I would like to have that interface just anywhere. Why not a client? Hey, I do not mind some ads🙂

Technorati : , , , , ,

This entry was posted in Technology by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

4 thoughts on “Google Wonders

  1. Absolutely agree to Google’s greatness being in their simplicity. I am sure that the brains at the top are one of the best ‘business minds’ ever. Google is soon going to be one of the biggest giants soon.

Leave a Reply

