As it comes to an end….

These are the last few days of the term. It will be over in another 15 days. Of course, the heat of placement will still keep the place abuzz. But (fortunately) I am out of it.

Not surprisingly, there is so much of difference in these last days here and those last few days at IITK. Even then I was looking forward to go out of the place. It’s no different now. However, the difference was there is the process that led to the desire to get out. I was bored of things at IITK by that time. Had done it, had learnt from it and then wanted to move on. Here, I just never wanted to get into it and was waiting to get out quite early on.

So then, haven’t I missed learning something? It could not have been so totally devoid of learnings – nothing is. True… There would be something or the other hidden in everything. But what I consider my biggest learning and achievement here is how to keep yourself and your personality intact even when the pressure to conform is so high. I am getting out of the place “intact” is how I would like to put it. Yeah, richer by a number case studies, project reports made overnight, regressions and factor analyses run aimlessly, classes attended duly, presentations run through sleeping audience with the speaker himself/herself not know what is being talked about, and facets of institutionalized “surprises” which would no longer shock me. Also, very importantly I have learnt as an spectator (almost for the first time in life). It has its advantages and I think I took this route in the right place. Being an actor here was not that important. You do not always have to be one!

But this fairly successful life away from “mainstream” is not to be credited to me solely. I wish I could do something to thank all the old friends who have been all ears for all my cribbings and boring (well – not always…) tales. To all other blog readers too, who have sometimes silently and sometimes empathically bore my outbursts with me. And no matter what the system is, there are always individuals you meet, who do small, little things to make you feel nice, who would unexpectedly and to your delight present before yourself a part of theirs which was totally overshadowed by the system, who would sit with you at the moment when you, with all your strength, just can not rely on your past and present to hold you, who would make you feel at home whenever you bumped into the territories you do not normally frequent, who would extend a hand of friendship when you are hesistant if you should, who suddenly throw off that cloak of competitiveness, sometimes bordering on being disgusting, when a real crisis comes up and do many more such things. I haven’t explicitly thanked many such people at IIML – you can never do that. If you start doing that, something of spontaneity of the life is lost. So, I thank them all here today. Another important learning from me has been that individuals can not be judged from the system they have come to be a part of!!

Well, this might still be too early you know😉 I am still two project reports and two exams away from completing the term!!

Technorati :

This entry was posted in IIML by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

2 thoughts on “As it comes to an end….

Leave a Reply

