Focus in the blog…

After over two years of blogging about this and that, I feel a strong urge to have a blog that is focussed on a particular topic/issue. I have always believed that writing a blog as a personal journal does not make much sense. Have tried to make sure as much as possible that it should not happen. Sometimes, it has happened anyway; still even while writing about a personal experience I have tried to pick up one around which I could weave a story. To what extent have I been successful, I do not know. I have tried for sure.

But now that does not look sufficient. After having been around for a while and after having looked at some of the famous focussed blog, I really want to have one like those. Not so much for the fame part of it, but for the sheer satisfaction I could get by knowing and writing about something with an “expertise”.

What are the possibilities then? I know a bit about start-ups, but not enough to dedicate a blog. I know a bit about social service, but not enough to write frequently. I have some feminist kind of opinions, but am nowhere close to being an expert. I know something about B-Schools, but do not identify enough to be able to write much about them. I know quite a few things about IITK, but that seems like a hazy dream now. I can put some thoughts on society, human psychology etc. but again am not sound enough to write frequently on them. I read books, but never have enough material to write as a “Review” so as to be able to have a blog dedicated to them. I like traveling, but just haven’t been doing enough of those to write a travelogue. The other things about which I know because of personal experiences seem to get exhausted in few posts (See Serial posts like “The Maithils” or “Border Area Economics” in “Serial Posts in this Blog“). Again I (am supposed to) know something about marketing, economics and business in general, but do not still have strong enough opinions on many a things to keep a full-fledged blog. Since, I started reading (or buying) The Economic Times, complexities of politics seem to have started getting beyond me. There are just too many people writing about the online software and services. While frequent reading of Slashdot and CNET did make me write about some of them for a while, I could not sustain interest after a while. The quest for focus led me to start blogs like Ghazal Lyrics and Hindi Poetry. But the satisfaction of original contribution is not there. Some suggestions came in terms of adding value by writing my comments on the entries there, but in that too I face a problem similar to those in writing Book Reviews. Once in a while, I have even acted as a nice “Live you life – Life is beautiful – Do not give into what world says” kind of preacher, but then preaching continuously is not my forte either. There are times when I have nicely cribbed about things. If I had a specific talent to find out all the things that are wrong with the world, probably even that could have been a thing to focus on. But no, I do not have that expertise either. Still do not have a digital camera and scanning is too dull a business. So, can not start a photoblog. Not that I have much of craze for photography either!! I write Poetry, but not often enough these days to have a blog for just that.

The result? The result is this blog which a bits and pieces of everything and has a focus on nothing. It still gives all the satisfaction that comes out of simply writing. Still there is something more that I want now. Hah! But for that I need to gain some expertise and that’s still a long way off. Much as I would like to focus, I feel that I am still only exploring things and the way things are I would not be surprised if all my life is spent in exploring only. No, I would not regret that. But then this blog will remain what it is. A mess of everything!!😦

Technorati : ,

This entry was posted in Others by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

5 thoughts on “Focus in the blog…

  1. Pingback: Floating Sun » Why focus?

  2. Honest Conflicts, Aha moment !!
    Exploring(Drifting)? Focused(Meditating)?
    Initail exploration leads to focused stand on issues,
    Isn’t it?
    :-&

Leave a Reply

