Book Tag

Time to respond to the book-tagging done by Nakul.

Books I read this year. Problem is that I am having tough time recalling all the names, still I will try my best. This is not in the chronological order or reading. (And yeah – this might be the right time to recall all of them. In case they ask about hobby in the interviews you see :D)

English

  1. Saint Joan (G. B. Shaw): Read this post.
  2. Selected Short Plays (G. B. Shaw): Typical G. B. Shaw on British Society
  3. The Razor’s Edge (Somerset Maugham): Nice play of characters
  4. I Dare (Kiran Bedi): Read this.
  5. Pather Panchali (Bibhutibhushan Bandopadhyay): Wrote about it here.
  6. Contemporary Indian Love Stories (A Collection): Did not suit my mood when I read it. So, not much to say.
  7. Villette (Charlotte Bronte): Another of that kind…
  8. Dr. Zhivago (Boris Pasternak): I did not write about it? Never mind!! Just read it if you haven’t already. Really fantastic work. Couple of my favourite excerpts here and here.
  9. The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Victor Hugo): The last book of the year. Actually finished in 2006.

Hindi

  1. Kabuliwale Kee Bengali Bahu (Translation or original writing in Bengali by Sushmita Bandopadhyay): Read this.
  2. Rangbhoomi (Premchand): Little bit about it here.
  3. Lucknow Kee Paanch Raatein (Sardaar Zaafri): Umm… nothing much to say. Urdu was little tough for me. But the reason I read it for were very different – so can not express really.
  4. Chitralekha (Bhagwaticharan Varma): Wrote something here.
  5. Parati Parikatha (Fanishwarnath Renu): Home, dear home🙂. Here.
  6. Kanupriya (Dharmaveer Bharti): Hmm… Nothing – if you know the mood, read it.
  7. Varun ke Bete (Nagarjun): The novel had no twists. There was no story really. It’s like a plain recording of daily life of the fishermen of Darbhangha District in Bihar, with no skills of cinematography having been put to use. If you have the curiosity to know, this is for you. If you want something for the pleasure of a story, it’s not for you.
  8. Yashodhara (Maithilisharan Gupt): What would not go well with most people of my generation is his Hindi. Too complicated and too top that, the flow of language is not there. But he has done some service to the Hindi Literature by writing about the forgotten characters of history and mythology. This is something he is well known for. Yashodhara (on Lord Buddha’s wife) is one such story woven around a poetic creation. If I keep the difficulties of language apart for a while, these creations raise the issue of at whose cost the great people become great!!
  9. Baaesween Sadi (Rahul Sankrityayan): See this.

Now that’s not a bad list, is it?😀 And doing equal justice to both the languages in which I read!! I book tag Apurva and Rare Hand Axe(:D)

Technorati :

This entry was posted in Literature by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

2 thoughts on “Book Tag

  1. I am impressed. That is what I thought after visiting your blog(s), specially the blog on ghazals, that is what exactly I had in my mind to accomplish some day, until I visitied the blog. I am giving up the idea of publishing lyrics of ghazalas and nazams. You have done far better job.

    I will find something new to pass my time🙂

Leave a Reply

