मुझे लगना है बस मुझ जैसा

I could not help notice two advertisements on this trip back home. One was for No-Marks cream and the other for Afterbath Cream. Pardon me if you think I have seen it too late, but its only when I am at home that I watch television – hence the timing.

First one disappointed me. It appears that nothing can beat the craze for fairness out here.No-Marks अब double role में – दाग-धब्बे हटाए और गोरा बनाए (I do not claim that I remember the words exactly – but this was the gist). So – no – you can not sell unless you make people गोरा and hence marriagable!!

Afterbath cream seems to have taken a bold step – “ना गोरी, ना साँवली, ना श्याम, ना श्वेत……. मुझे लगना है बस मुझ जैसा”. I would love to see it succeed over the get fair – get married theme. But is that likely to happen yet?😦

Translations

  • No-Marks अब double role में – दाग-धब्बे हटाए और गोरा बनाए = No-Marks now in double role – Removes marks as well as makes you fair.
  • ना गोरी, ना साँवली, ना श्याम, ना श्वेत = Neither fair, nor …., nor black, nor white
  • मुझे लगना है बस मुझ जैसा = I just want to appear like myself

Technorati : ,

This entry was posted in Business & Entrepreneurship, Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

4 thoughts on “मुझे लगना है बस मुझ जैसा

  1. So true, the advertisers have been trying to impose this belief on us that if the girl is not fair, you should not marry her.

    Now-a-days boys are also not spared “Fair and Handsome” is the first step in this direction. I find this so funny.

    But the fact still remains, that this indeed is a reflection of the thought of the majority of our society (pitiable but true). I have indeed seen this first-hand, where parents looking for a match for their daughter, bend over backwards to prove that their daughter is Fair and Beautiful, and no mention of intelligence or education.

    This is one of the things that’s “Really sad but true”.

  2. why do u connect 2 things…..”you make people गोरा” and hence “marriagable” ? The fair and handsome cream also uses गोरा theme for boys.
    It is a person’s inherant desire to look fair and beautiful/handsome. The craze has risen in modern era creating a new array of beauty parlours. These beauty parlours are not made for traditional girls.
    In fact, they r targetting the persons inherent desire of being fair. *u* r connecting it to marriage.

  3. Take a stock of all the advertisements around and then tell me what is it that *I* am connecting to being marriageable and what is it that these advertisements are doing. If you are saying that No-Marks does not specifically refer to “marriage” proposition, then its fine. What had disappointed me was that it started on a different platform, but seems it *had* to add fairness to that. Essentially therefore it starts competing with all those prodcucts only.

    There is nothing wrong in desire to look beautiful/handsome. After all the original proposition of No-Marks and the proposition of Afterbath cream (which I appreciate) also essentially appeal to the same end-benefit). The emphasis here is different. If you can see it, its fine; if not, forget it.

  4. To Anonymous,
    What do you mean when you say “inherent desire”? I think “fair is beautiful” is a result of mind-conditioning in India. I met a Swedish guy who told me there is a lot of racism in India- this was the conclusion he drew from reading the matrimonial ads in newspapers.
    In a lot of other countries you see black models doing great (Naomi Campbell etc.) but it would not be possible in India even though half of out population is dark complexioned.
    I also speak from personal experience – I am a darker complexion girl who was very confident of herself till she became of marriageable age. Then all of a sudden – meeting a prospective groom became a nightmare – one more person who when he sees me would see a not-fair girl.I got out of this market and decided to wait till I meet that special someone.
    When I am in the US I never have a feeleing of inferiority complex like I used to initially in India. I htink in India we are obsessed with fair complexion. And then men crib about their wives because even though they married based only on looks , after marriage they expect a lot of other things that they did not make an effort to look for before. Well- one gets what one looks for and has to live with it.

Leave a Reply

