Looking at the history…

Today, after a long time, I felt like looking at the modern history of Bihar. At least a little something has changed. Something moved. When someone asked for my expectation with the regime change in Bihar, my instantaneous reaction was, "I do not know. I have been born in Laloo-Raj. Have not seen anything else." On a closer look, I realized that was a gross exaggeration. First 7 years of my life have seen other regimes🙂 What the hell! That still counts for over 2/3rd of my life under Laloo"s regime. And yes! People from other states can envy us, because the GK paper in school days was lot easier. Over the years, we did not need to remember the names again and again – for the chief minister. And when the change in "name" (and just the name, mind you) did come, at least I was past those GK exam days. How convenient! I pity the children of this generation.

There is another reason for my feeling sad about it. Till now, everybody knew the name of the chief-minister of my state. Yes – invariably everybody. While I hardly ever remembered who was the chief minister of their states. Didn’t I feel proud about it?

And yeah – now Biharis are going to face worse ragging. How convenient it was to spend most of you ragging time imitating Laloo!! Now, you will be shifted to doing tougher things too soon😦

I had started off this post for putting down more serious thought, but am too tired for the day it seems. It has to wait.

This entry was posted in Time Pass by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

One thought on “Looking at the history…

  1. Hi Jaya,
    Well seeing the back of Lalu has been my dream since the last 10 years (even though i was just 14 then).
    But I have seen enough of politician’s now to not hope for anything bright but I would love to be proven wrong.

    Waiting for your serious post on this

    – Ashish

Leave a Reply

