A dose of feminism…

Found this on the net –

The Male Privilege Checklist

Of course, certain points will depend on the context, and some might be exaggerated. Still, overall a nice comparison. And there is a reply to the most common critiques too –

 

Since I first compiled it, the list has been posted several times on internet discussion groups. Very helpfully, many people have suggested additions to the checklist. More commonly, of course, critics (usually, but not always, male) have pointed out men have disadvantages too – being drafted into the army, being expected to suppress emotions, and so on. These are indeed bad things – but I never claimed that life for men is all ice cream sundaes. Pointing out that men are privileged in no way denies that sometimes bad things happen to men.

In the end, however, it is men and not women who make the most money; men and not women who dominate the government and the corporate boards; men and not women who dominate virtually all of the most powerful positions of society. And it is women and not men who suffer the most from intimate violence and rape; who are the most likely to be poor; who are, on the whole, given the short end of patriarchy’s stick. As Marilyn Frye has argued, while men are harmed by patriarchy, women are oppressed by it.

Some of my favourites –

  • I can be confident that my co-workers won’t think I got my job because of my sex – even though that might be true.
  • If I am never promoted, it’s not because of my sex.
  • If I fail in my job or career, I can feel sure this won’t be seen as a black mark against my entire sex’s capabilities.
  • If I have children and provide primary care for them, I’ll be praised for extraordinary parenting if I’m even marginally competent.
  • If I have children and pursue a career, no one will think I’m selfish for not staying at home.
  • If I’m careless with my financial affairs it won’t be attributed to my sex.
  • If I’m careless with my driving it won’t be attributed to my sex.
  • I can speak in public to a large group without putting my sex on trial.
  • I can ask for legal protection from violence that happens mostly to men without being seen as a selfish special interest, since that kind of violence is called “crime” and is a general social concern. (Violence that happens mostly to women is usually called “domestic violence” or “acquaintance rape,” and is seen as a special interest issue.)
  • The decision to hire me will never be based on assumptions about whether or not I might choose to have a family sometime soon.
  • I have the privilege of being unaware of my male privilege.


This entry was posted in Excerpts, Feminism by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

7 thoughts on “A dose of feminism…

  1. Reminds me of a mail and countermail forwarded among students about girls view about boys and then the girls reply to that mail.
    Although it is very very clear( at least in indian context) that men have priviledge over women, but here, whatever are given, looks more like humour than serious note.
    Just could not resist writing some line from the male side (which are just the opposite face of coin😉 ) :-
    1. if, in general, women talk with a men, noone would blame her sex for attraction to opposite sex.
    2. If men get some higher achievement, they wont be promoted by media like women.
    3. (this happens to be on serious note) All the laws are tilted towards women.
    4. If there is a sexual harassment of men by women( Aitraaz😉, noone would believe it.
    5. Women can get maternity leave for a few months because of her sex.
    6. Women can demand for reservation, because they are women.
    7. Women can be totally ignorant of priviledges and can make hue and cry over being second class citizen.

    this is as “serious” as those are given on Male Priviledge checklist🙂

  2. If you are a new visitor, let me tell you I have tendency to delete the comments which try to silute the seriousness of the issue. So, henceforth, you may not want to waste your time and effort on writing such comments. If these were not supposed to be serious, it would not have been categorized under “Feminism”. It would go in “Timepass”. Just because I do not adopt a male-bashing tone does not mean I was not serious (for that matter the original author of the excerpt).

    The criticism that your comment translates in to has already been very well answered by the author.

    Yes, I would grant you the achievement that with this comment you have written proved several notions of the checklist to be right and I am tempted to add more.

  3. I am not saying that what ur list is wrong or right?
    I have seen most of the things written in the list happen in reality.
    Lets take ourself out of our body and try to design career models for men and women. Then i guess u would realize, U have to model them differently because there are very significant differences. I guess in the chase of equality we have chosen to put both of them in the same model that was orignally designed for men. So, obviously u would see things would be bais to men.
    Both the models should be different but still equal. I guess its seriously difficult problem. Not that easy to solve. And this symbolic equality given by law is not that old. It came in pactice in early 20th century only. Only 100 years have been passed. Evolution is taking place. We have been able to walk this much and will walk ahead.
    I think u are asking too much in short time. I guess deep thinking and experimentation would solve this problem. Not this aggression or making of such lists.

  4. Fred Sanford: Didn’t you learn
    anything being my son?
    Who do you think I’m
    doing this all for?

    Lamont Sanford: Yourself.

    Fred: Yeah, you
    learned something.

    Not even a single act done is devoid of Self-Motivation unless you have Embodied principles of Gita. So my question is simple: Is this the most burning issue left in the world? In my opinion Girls are starting to get a fair share of the pie. Now there are more pressing problems in the world which cry attention.

    P.S.: My writing this comment should also be a self-motivated act. Even my analysis about my motivation is also motivated by a meta motivation to think myself as free. Now guess my motivation… But for that you should have some motivation to guess…Dont bother.

  5. Add this to the list of male privileges: If I father a child with a woman, she has the option to abort my child without consulting me.

  6. Anon,

    Casting off the humorous layer, your list looks real and practical. Feminist male lapdogs in media heap endless praise on women, even for a minor achievement.

    Jaya,

    The discussion must be logical and rigorous. Deleting a comment just because it contradicts with your opinion is a trait of stuff-less touch-me-not bunnies, which I am sure you are not.

Leave a Reply

