Why worthless features?

I think and I fail to understand. Why must wordpress.com introduce all the new features worthless for a common blogger?

Quite sometime back, I saw this custom-field feature and still do not know what to do with it. For God’s sake, do not give me a link to the wordpress codex once again. Finding something relevant to my specific problem/query there is nightmarish. If you can, tell me what am I supposed to do with this particular service.

And the latest one I noticed is in “Insert Link”. There are some options for “Style” now. The names given to these options are completely incomprehensible and so once again – the codex! Pardon me – I am better off without using it than spending hours through that codex.

I had given a feedback about “spam comments” feature (and I am sure many others would have). Initially it only showed numebr of spams, which would be removed after 15 days. And the list just did not appear there! Recently they fixed it up and guess what! It now shows me the e-mail id, IP and what not of the comment marked as spam, but not the comment itself😦 How on earth am I supposed to know from all that whether the comment is indeed a a spam. Ah! I am sure there would be way to check in the database of spamming IPs (sarcasm intended), but come on. This is supposed to make my work easier.

And why can’t you instead work on the much-in-demand feature of template customization? :(( (And something more useful than changing the colour of the header please!) To begin with – at least give me the option of rearranging things in the sidebar. The archives on the top are such a waste of space. Let the categories and blog-roll move up. And several other things that I have mentioned in some of the earlier posts.

Do not preach me for why don’t I use “feedbadk” instead of publicly cribbing about it. I have sent enough feedbacks and so have tons of others on these issues. But it seems old problem of “geeks at work” is at work here. Do not develop first what you think is cool to develop. Listen to the users please – develop something that is cool to use!!

And sometimes I really feel that all these service providers have formed some kind of collusion – you provide this and not that, I provide that and not this. There is no way users will get what they exactly want. Why can’t at least Google/Blogger.com wake upto the need of catgories now :(( Or are they too busy fighting spams and splogs!!

This entry was posted in Cribbings, Information, Technology by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

One thought on “Why worthless features?

  1. I think one can do without categories in Blogger, for now atleast. They’ll introduce them eventually. But one can’t make do with all this khit-pit you have to endure with other blogging software.

    Quicfix solution for categories in blogger:
    At the top/bottom of each post start manually writing – ‘Category: Blah, blah’. Leave insructions in the sidebar giving a list of categories you use, and ask people to use Google search to dig up posts beloning a particular category!

    Nandz.

Leave a Reply

