Testing and other developments

So, dear readers, I guess I have bored you enough with my test posts. Have done enough testings, and the result has been what can be called in Hindi as ‘लौट के बुद्धु घर को आए’. The closest saying in English is “Back to the square one”. So, after all those attempts at desktop blogging clients, I am back to using the good old web-interface. The problems I encountered at various stages and which subsequently got resolved are –

  1. Connecting to WordPress.com (Path to the API is yourid.wordpress.com/xmlrpc.php)
  2. Retrieving/Assigning Categories (Is available in almost all the clients except Flock’s blog editor)
  3. Unicode Support (Is not there in more well known ones like Qumana and w.bloggar, but post2blog had it)

What did not get resolved, however, was assigning author name to the posts made through all the clients I tried. The author name just remains blank over there. I wrote to Qumana support, but the reply did not help (they replied rather fast, I must acknowledge). Further it does not appear to a probem with the software really. All of them can not go wrong at the same time. So, something to do with wordpress.com. Again, I have come across people using Qumana with wordpress.com successfully. So, I guess there is a way out and I am missing something. What is that?😦 Have written to the WordPress.com “Feedback” also. Yet to hear from them, but I am afraid they might have more important tasks at hand than resolving my “Assign the author problem”😦

The client software I tried are

  1. Flock’s blog Editor (that’s where the quest began)
  2. Qumana
  3. w.bloggar
  4. BlogJet (30 days trial version – costs too much)
  5. post2blog
  6. Zoundry Blog Writer (I should say installed, rather than used it since could not figure out how to set proxies in the first place)

In another development, I have abandoned both Firefox and Flock for the time being in favour of old choice called netscape. The memory leakage problem in both of them was too much for my poor 128 MB to sustain (yeah, yeah – despite paging and virtual memory and all). Apparently firefox would not fix it before v2.0 (do not remember where I read this). So, till then I am happy with Netscape. Of course, assuming that it also does not start showing similar problems. Netscape is no longer the bloated thing it used to be. It is built upon firefox only. Though I am likely to miss firefox extensions, but there are these little goodies which are nice here. For example, a webmail button. You can store the ids and passwords of all (famous) webmail accounts (Gmail, Yahoo, Hotmail, Netscape Mail etc.) and access them with one click. Then there is this in-buiilt rendering thing, from where you can see the website in IE or firefox like rendering, as you wish, on the fly. Apparently, for sites optimized for IE, it picks up IE rendering itself! Probably no rocket science, but still, it’s nice. There might be more, but I will have to explore.

And finally, writing about Flock is the fashion of the time. Let me not lag behind. Personally I do not think it is worth all the hype that has been created around it. I mean, integrating blogging, del.icio.us and flickr, by itself is not a path-breaking concept. I am not even sure they are worth much. Yeah, if they improve the blog editor, I would certainly like it – still it’s a convenience, nothing path breaking about which all the hungama should be created. Am also kind of confused about starring and tagging the favourites. I would not want to blindly integrate my favourites with del.icio.us surely. And somehow, the whole thing (starring, tagging etc.) has confused me. May be I have not looked hard enough. Overall, not much of an excitement.

I see some excitement in an “Indian” product I got to test recently. But I have to confirm if I can blog about it yet.

This entry was posted in Information, Technology by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

Leave a Reply

