Microsoft vs. Blogger.com

At best, the world is talking about Microsoft vs. Google. What am I doing here talking Microsoft vs. Blogger.com? So what if Blogger.com is owned by Google…

Okay, what I am saying here might be a moral/cultural shock to excessively senti Opensource+Always-Anti-Microsoft types (If you are tempted to defend that opensource is not anti-microsoft by definition, hold on. I never equated the two. There is a reason, there is a plus sign in between. It is the intersection set that I am talking about).

But there is a problem I find, in the way the anti-microsoft sentiment is often presented. It is as if there is a villain out there – always bad. I am not defending all the things Microsoft might have done wrong. But somewhere in this criticism, the credit that is due to Microsoft for several things it has done, is lost. It has added value, it has helped increase the reach of computer to common people. And no, all this is not just an outcome of foul practices and buffy code. It can not be. Just that it captured the requirements before someone else did. I am not justifying the misdeeds of corporations. But there are not many which have always steered clear of the charges of doing something wrong. Dear own AOL was criticized of doing a similar thing in Instant Messenger market as Microsoft was criticized of doing in the Browser Market. And believe me, several of the ‘old-economy’ companies would have done much, more heinous things. But somehow this anti-microsoft stand has taken almost a religious standing. I do not support it. I have been a Linux lover, use and appreciated several opensource software, have a respect for the ideology. Still, this blind sentiment puts me off!

Why did I think of it today. Somewhere, some of the comments on Blogger.com are giving me a similar feeling. I had good enough reasons to switch and so I switched. Obviously I respect and like WordPress.com. But if I see a blind anti-blogger.com sentiment here, I get put off🙂 Blogger.com has done, and continues to do a lot to promote blogging. For many, it is indeed enough and cool. And it has undoubtedly made things simple. It has added a lot of value and I think it should be given credit for that…

This entry was posted in Business & Entrepreneurship, Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

Leave a Reply

