Parati Parikatha

This is the latest reading – a novel by Phanishwar Nath Renu of “Maila Aanchal” fame. Hope some of you remember the TV serial from DD 1 days. And also the famous Raj Kapoor, Waheeda Rehman starrer “Teesri Kasam” (remember melodies like “Duniya banane waale kya tere man mein samai” and “Sajan re jhooth mat bolo”?) was based on one of his novels…

Apart from every thing else, my affection for him would obviously stem from the fact that he belongs to my region. Yep, he was a native of a village called “Aurahi Hingna”, which was then in Purnea district(that’s where my home is), and now falls in Arariya district (that’s the district in which Jogbani, where my parents currently stay, falls). And then all his writings are very specifically set up in the local context. I must mention that sometimes his language becomes so “local” that even I have difficulty understanding what they mean! Sitting in a totally different part of the country, working amongst people of a totally different class, I just can not express what overwhelming feelings a novel presenting a familiar picture of familiar people and familiar places brings. Oh – yes! That train from Katihar to Jogbani passing through Purnea, Kasba, Garhbanaili, Arariya and Farbisganj is almost legendrey there. That’s the train I take for going home and that’s the train Renu mentions in his novel written in the context mentions too! (Now, the work on broad gauge (upgradation from meter gauge) is going on there – so expect some changes in the kind of trains, but the route remains!)

This was not to undermine his talents as a writer. He is known as the first “anchalik kathakar” (translated approximately to “regional story-writer”) in Hindi and he does justice to this name! The description is just too realistic. Unlike Premchand (why do I get a feeling that I have mentioned it earlier?), there is no idealization of village life here. If there is something to be laughed at, he laughs at it. But it is not an outsider’s laughter. It is like laughing at oneself. So, his sympathies are still with his characters, but the description is realistic.

I do not know if you would exactly know what I am saying unless you have come to similar writing in your region… No, no I am not trying to say none exist – it’s only a question of reading🙂

Rest later…

It was just to break the silence🙂

28 thoughts on “Parati Parikatha

  1. talking about local languages, i was just thinking about the cause of sharp changes in dialect within a matter of a few kilometers. If you are in Bhagalpur you will be speaking Angika and just cross the Ganges and you have shudhdha maithili!! the question is why this sudden change and what posssibly could have caused it.

    One point is worth noting that Fanishwar nath renu was very considerate about the development of his village and the region. His will says that if youy want to make any film or serial on his stories then it must be shot in the Purnea, Araria districts only(Thats why Teesri Kasam was shot in Champanagar and Maila Aanchal in Raghunathpur villages). I happened to be in my village when Maila Aanchal was being shot and it was funny to see Preeti Khare coming to our house and eating kasara (a kind of laddu made of rice flour, usually in marriages) like it were some kind of delicacy, while it is such a tasteless thing to eat!!

  2. Yeah, in one of the post of my “The Maithils” series I had mentioned the change that comes in language as you move from one part to the other. And the saying that goes like “Kos-kos par paani badle, teen kos par bani” (“Water changes at every Kos, language at every three Kos.” – Kos is a measure of length).

    The post is here

    http://jayajha.blogspot.com/2004/12/maithils-i.html

  3. ‘Teesri Kasam’ was based, I believe, on a Renu short story called ‘Maare gaye Gulfam’. There is a song sung by Lata Mangeshkar in the film which uses the title of the story, perhaps as a sort of dedication by poet-lyricist Shailendra to Renu.

  4. Hi dear I don’t know your name, but i would like to appreciate you for your valuable efforts, your site is having considerable amount of info. My self Rohit based in Hyd, basically from Kasba, i too have launched our own native place website http://www.kasba-purnea.com
    But looking more info about surround, just go thru surely you will feel good.

    Have a nice day and wishing you a very happy and prosperous Year

  5. Hey Jaya,

    I was so surprised to find parti pari katha on google search, while I was looking for some other information. But all the surprise went away the moment I saw this URL. It fitted like a glove.

    since you have mentioned about Premchand, let me add what I feel:
    Premchand always wrote stories from his point of view whereas Renu wrote from his his characters’ brain and never let his own feelings and thought mingle with that. Moreover the poetic language of Renu is unparalleled.

    Moreover you reminded me of the train journey from Katihar to Purnia. Thats simply awesome and cannot be matched with any other journey.

  6. hi to all.
    myself Abhishek. i belongs to kasba basicaly.at present mba , working vd Finolex Industries. Feeling very glad to see this type of community..

    want to know more about all of above..

  7. Hellow,

    glad to know lot about the new generation coming up from my native place ,KASBA (PURNIA) Bihar in all the dynamic fields. Myself subir kumar ,B.E(COMPUTER SCINCE), Now
    in delhi scince last 15 years involed in computer sofware and
    hardware business.If anybody need any kind of help Please contact
    me on my mobile no.9811046110.

    subir kumar.

  8. i read maila anchal.it was so facinating that i can’t express. it seemed to me that i lived those characters rather than mere reading. every charaters whether it was baldev or kalicharan or babandas or others. whenever i see or read that book a notalgic feeling occurs to me. nowadays iam looking for parti parikatha.

  9. Dear Jaya,
    I culdn’t understand what exactly you wanted to say through this post.I am still unable to understand that in what way u went through this novel.as far as this novel is concern this is one of the best ever novel in indian context,I mean to say in Hindi.and I must say this is the best ever novel based on regional language.The incomprehensiveness of the term you are mentioning in the post is illogical as this novel has been written in regional language.The tipical language must be there.so if one is interested in reading such novels,they must be aware about the termology.

    Rest appreciate for this innovative initiative.

    Thanks
    sareen.

  10. So? When did I say it is not a good novel? And pray, what is “illogical” in incomprehensiveness of the terms. I am not familiar with many local terms, that’s just a fact. How did the question of logic arise in that?

  11. hello, main garhbanaili me rahta hun. Kisi jamane me yahan ka mela bahut prasidha tha. Magar afsos mere janam se pehle. Phir bhi durga puja abhi bhi hota hai aur usi samay chota sa mela lagta hai. Yehi woh jagah hai jahan teesri kasam ki shooting hui thi. Kair mujhse agar kisi tarah ki jaankari chahiye to mujhe email kare. Aap logo ki baaten padh kar bahut aacha laga.

  12. Hi to all.

    I m Abhinav raja from kasba[purnea]now i m doing engineering from mit purnea.whenever i visit this site i feel very proud and i would like to appreciate to launcher of this site.

    chak de kasba
    Thanks
    Abhinav.

  13. Cry 4 crY is the perfect translation of Maila Aanchal written by Great Phaniswar Nath Renu… and still sensing the still from it after Bloody Flood in this underdeveloped zone of Bihar…. Do some justified work 4 this zone… out of Blog World..

  14. ek news channel me dekha likha tha “bihar ko bacha lo baiya” par mujhe sikayat dusro se nahin hai unhone jo kiya bahut kiya. Par hum bihariyo ne kya kiya sirf dekhte rahe apne logo ko marte hue. Jo log gaye bhi woh rupya kamane , chori karne, logo ko lutne, flood ke naam par chanda mang ke apne poket ko garam karne . Kuch toh sarm karo. Shayad isliye log hamare bihar ko bimaru kahte hai. Main toh itna hi kahunga sab ko ki jo hua ho gaya sab mil ke tan, man, aur dhan se bihar ko bacha lo baiya,,,………

  15. aapke likhe ko bahut logon ne tarif kee. vastav me renu ne jis aanchlik bhasa ka apne upanyas me upyog kiya hai bu angika bhasha hai. jo aaj bhi santhal pargana se purniya tak bolee jatee hai.
    prasun latant

  16. Hi,
    It is Manish Gopal Jha from Durgaganj(Katihar),If any one is facing the problem to understand some local language of any part of novels or stories of Sri Renu ,please mail me,as being the local dweller,it is very easy for me to let you understand the meaning of local phrages and language.like it is quite natural for any person from out side of Purnea,katihar and Arariya to understand the meaning of Baggr bakra,kukkurmanchi,panchlight(Peromax)),Alhua(Shakarkand),Tappar,Chaubari,Ganhi Mahtma(Mahatma Gandhi) ,lehru jamahir laal(Jawahar lal Nehru),jinda baagh(ZINDA BAAD).etc.
    You will be surprised to know that still people in my area are speaking and living in the same style ,which was mentioned by Sri Renu.
    Regards,
    Manish Gopal Jha
    Durgaganj(Katihar)

  17. Hi,
    It is Manish Gopal Jha from Durgaganj(Katihar),If any one is facing the problem to understand some local language of any part of novels or stories of Sri Renu ,please mail me,as being the local dweller,it is very easy for me to let you understand the meaning of local phrages and language.like it is quite natural for any person from out side of Purnea,katihar and Arariya to understand the meaning of Baggr bakra,kukkurmanchi,panchlight(Peromax)),Alhua(Shakarkand),Tappar,Chaubari,Ganhi Mahtma(Mahatma Gandhi) ,lehru jamahir laal(Jawahar lal Nehru),jinda baagh(ZINDA BAAD).etc.
    You will be surprised to know that still people in my area are speaking and living in the same style ,which was mentioned by Sri Renu.
    Regards,MGJ DURGAGANJ.

    • Hii manish ji m anshu gupta frm jharkhand .. m dong p g frm english litrature n facng many difficulties in undrstandng da story of the novel parati parikatha bcz i hv dat book in hindi language n nt gettng any english copy of it…. I hv to do a projct wrk on dat book so can u plz hlp me in undrstnfng da story of it by sendng the summary of da story to my gmail address it would b really a grt favour fr me if would plz kindly hlp me ….my address iz gansh137@gmail.com…….

  18. Hi,
    It is Manish Gopal Jha from Durgaganj(Katihar), It is quite natural for any person from out side(Purnea,katihar and Arariya) to understand the meaning of Baggr bakra,kukkurmanchi,panchlight(Petromax)),Alhua(Shakarkand),Tappar,Chaubari,Ganhi Mahtma(Mahatma Gandhi) ,lehru jamahir laal(Jawahar lal Nehru),jinda baagh(ZINDA BAAD).etc.
    Regards,MGJ DURGAGANJ.

    • Hi Manish,

      Your comments are really awesome. I appreciate your approach of helping and still having love for litreture which I know you are not very involved with these days. Anyway, thank you very much for this.

      Johny

  19. Hi
    I’m Rahul Kashyap from Patna,currently in IIT Kharagpur. It’s really superb experience to read Renu, whether it’s short story like Atithi satkar, AAdim ratei ki mahak etc. or novels Maila AAnchal. He is conneted to the deep roots of poors immensely. He has written in Maila Aanchal foreward “Isme phool bhi hain,shool bhi,dhool bhi hai,gulaab bhi,keechad bhi hai”

    This line alone describes truly nature of his writing. He had expressed everything good or bad about rural India especially Bihar. After Premchand he is the greatest to deep such emotions from rural regions.

    Agyeya,the great poet,was big fan of him used to say “…he captures flying words & put them into words…” very true.

  20. Hi,
    me sumit from kasba now i am doing b.tech
    frm mit purnea.
    I want to say all bihari
    BE PROUD A BIHARI &
    RESPECT ALL BIHARI

  21. Hii m anshu gupta ,, hii jaya m dong P G in english litrature ,,, m reading prati parikatha frm 1 month n its my 2nd tym bt still m facing difficulties in understandng da main concept r story of ths novel ,,, cn u plz hlp me wid the summary of ths novel so dat i can get da main theme of it ;;; it would b really a pleasurr fr me bcz it is my colleg’s project wrk n i hv to make thesis upon ghs novel so plz cn u help me out ,,,,,, my gmail adress is gansh137@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

