Mujhe Shikayat Hai…

Yep! You got it right. I am not done with my ranting and complains yet… The title of this post, by the way, comes from a column that used to come in ‘Sarita’ a women’s magazine in Hindi (that was long back – I haven’t looked at an issue for quite sometime – so do not know if they are continuing).

Yes, so this time ‘mujhe shikayat hai’ (I have a complain against) dealers of pre-paid sim cards. Particularly the one from whom I got my sim card at Ahmedabad. Before taking it I specifically asked him if it would create a problem that my proof of identity does not have a local address. He said there would be no problems and even got my phone activated in few minutes only unlike the 48 hours that are required by policy. I thought I was smart and the dealer was a nice person. No Sir! I was mistaken. It is not his headache if the hutch guys later find that local address is a problem, send my form back to the dealer and deactivate my outgoing calls! Not at all his problem – he sold a card and got his profit, right? Now, when I go to him he throws his hands up and directs me to hutch people. When I ask the person there that if I can not produce a certificate of a local address whether that means I lose my money (including what I spent in recharging) or will they at least take their (damned – which I didn’t say) sim card back, this person smiles (as he is told to do in his training I guess) and says, “I am sorry ma’m. We can not do anything here. You lose your money.”

Arghhh…

“I do think you need to do something about your dealers then. He should have told me right in the beginning!”

[smile]”I am sorry ma’m!”[/smile]

More of Arghh…

I come back to the guesthouse, take the guesthouse manager with me and then get the sim in his name. Now, it will take 48 hours to reactivate it!! Till then, I need to find a booth and it seems there are none in the posh locality of the guest house!😦

Let me still thank them for not deactivating incoming calls.

Moral of the story – do not trust those road-side dealers. Read all the rules and regulations yourself. Better go to a company owned outlet to get a sim card and do not feel elated at having been able to bypass the policies. Yeah, I thought I took a smart decision by going to a small dealer who would activate my card in immediately😦 “Karmon kee saza milti hai” and in this fast paced world even God moves rather fast!

This entry was posted in Cribbings, Imported from Old Blog by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

One thought on “Mujhe Shikayat Hai…

  1. Pingback: black and tan jack

Leave a Reply

