The mobility

I have recently come to appreciate, how much of mobility possession of a simple thing like a bicycle gave at IITK. Keeping a bicycle is not really a trend here. Some people have it, but those are exceptions. And others, if they keep vehicle, they will get a motor-bike. A bicycle is not needed as such, because campus is so compact. Particulary from our hostel every place you need to go is so near. Karishma had commented at distance of the academic block from our hostel as being probably less than the distance between GH Main Gate and G-wing (in which we lived) there! And she was right, I guess.

But sometimes I really miss that bicycle. It could not have given me so much of mobility so as to go to the city, but at least simply going around the campus (without needing a company) would have been possible. Walking alone, you give the look of a wandering soul to the people. (I sometimes wonder why has ‘company’ become such a ‘must have’ in our society, but on that later!) On cycle it’s not that bad. Further, you can certainly venture a few kilometers beyond the campus to see whatever is there around it. I can not forget that ‘adventurous’ (yeah – almost so) cycle trip to Panki from IITK. Wonder if any of my companions are reading this post. Too bad we lost all the photographs😦 And that unforgettable one to Bithoor. (That was a long one, I must say!)

But all this is not to happen. I don’t think I am going to get my parents to buy a bicycle for one year because I want to go around the campus! And I am to remain as little mobile as I am for another year.

4 thoughts on “The mobility

  1. Cycles for the use of hostelites is available in the sports room of
    H-9/H-10.
    (The code to the number lock is written in roman numerals on it.)

    And given the middle-of-nowhere location of this campus, there many places worth visiting within the ‘cycleable’ radius, especially if one likes the rustic, or open fields and forests.

  2. Great to know that you managed to use your bicycle at IIT. My bicycle was stolen within one semester😦 (Because I seldomly used that…and next semester once I wanted to use my bicycle then it took me 2 days to realize that it was non-existant!)

  3. Ayan: Thanks a lot for that piece of info. Now, only thing to be overcome is that I should not feel lazy in going to H9/10🙂

    Sandeep: Too bad about your bicycle. Security of bicycles was indeed an issue there. I, however, was lucky 🙂

  4. I think I had the same experience as Sandeep. I had a bicycle which I had exported from Delhi (it was my old school cycle) but it was so much fun to walk that I stopped using it. It lay unused for a long time and a great layer of dust had gathered on it. By that time I had become used to walking and was very reluctant to clean the cycle to use it again.
    One day, it vanished. Whoever took it might have thought that the owner would not miss it and I didnt!
    IIT was a great place to walk around aimlessly.

Leave a Reply

