First Time

Donated Blood for the first time – thanks to the camp in the campus today.

No, I am not going to give any account of some overwhelming emotional satisfaction. There was none. That probably could have come only if one could actually see that blood getting used for someone. The lack of direct impact does not take away the intellectual satisfaction though. It felt good that way.

And the most important part was that I finally got over a mental block that I had about donating blood. Yes, for all the bravery-talk I give here – I was kind of apprehensive about giving blood. I feel glad it has been ovecome. And seeing some of them donating before me feeling dizzy, I was kind of nervous through it. But it went well.

Donate blood! It’s good🙂

One thought on “First Time

  1. Since I am removing the Haloscan Comments, I am copy-pasting the comments I got on this post here.

    Brave Girl ! By the time you may get a certificate too. And let other’s know your blood group. May Some time you need to donate once more😦. I had seen the days, running for blood packets of specific group in blood banks for my near one or finding any donors! Because someone like us might have donated blood such that we got that. Me too brave in group of A+ ( Seems Good Marks in Exams ) .
    Prem | 01.30.05 – 9:25 pm | #

    Me a universal donor so long as your RH factor is +ve. Yep O+ve
    Jaya Jha | Homepage | 01.30.05 – 10:46 pm | #

    Safdarjung Hosp has a nice policy. If you have to undergo an operation or need blood transfusion, then you must get the required units of blood of any type from your relatives, friends, etc. These units would go to the blood bank of Safdarjung and the patient would be given the same number of units of blood of his type…
    I thought that this is a very smart and safe way of handling all the blood related problems. Commericially available blood in the market is unreliable and can be dangerous…
    Apurva | 01.31.05 – 12:00 am | #

    That is the policy of all the blood banks in general.
    abhaya | 01.31.05 – 12:05 pm | #

    Gravatar Jaya:As long the Rh factor is negative the donating ability is half as compared to the positive counterpart of the same group.Any way you belong to the largest group with your blood type. And O- type person is the universal donor and belong to the small group. For a little more information you may click the hyperlink below.
    Prem Piyush | Email | Homepage | 01.31.05 – 1:07 pm | #

    Gravatar Small correction: As long the Rh factor is negative the donating ability is “double” as compared to the positive counterpart of the same group.
    Prem Piyush | Email | Homepage | 01.31.05 – 1:19 pm | #

    That’s precisely what I was saying. I am a ‘universal’ donor as long as you have a +ve RH factor, not otherwise. I can not donate to someone with -ve RH.
    Jaya Jha | Homepage | 01.31.05 – 2:28 pm | #
    🙂
    shashank | 02.01.05 – 3:49 am | #

Leave a Reply

