Be a writer?

The question came up during my IIML interview. I have been writing since childhood and I like it. Why then I should say that I did not know what I wanted to do after my school. (It came up when I said I was not particularly fond of studying Computer Science. And one of the interviewers asked me why did I take up Computer Science then. My reply was that I did not know what I wanted to do and hence I went with the traditional choice.)

Anyway, so could I be a writer by profession? For the time being leave aside the question if I would be good enough a writer for people to want to read me and for me to be able to earn enough. That is assume all that is possible. Then, could I be a writer by profession?

No, I could not be, even in that case. Why? I am not the kind who can write out of vacuum. Its not possible for me to make stories about things and people I do not have much experience with. I can not possibly write about a professional if I have not been one or if I have not watched one like a normal person – struggling and trying to get through the normal things of life. If I had not known for myself what the job security or insecurity mean, I could never write about it. I could not write about the middle class life if I have not had enough experience with it. The list goes on. I must feel like one in the world to be able to write about the world. And even if I become neutral to some of the concerns of that people may have, it should not be because I have never been into it, but rather because I have been through it.

It is then that I can write. I would not have made even that much of a writer as I am now, if I had been under the protection of a Court (of older days).🙂

This entry was posted in Imported from Old Blog, Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

Leave a Reply

