Let the past go…

Bachchan had written sometime –

“‘Baat pichhli bhool Jao
Doosri Nagri Basao’
Premiyon ke prati rahi hai
Hai! Kitni Kroor Duniya

Aaj mujhse door duniya”

But I can’t rely much on him to support my tendency of not letting the past go. Because he is more famous for what he wrote later –

“Jo beet gayee so baat gayee”.

I will resort to one of my earlier writings – Navavarsha. Was written in the context of New Year, but has things which are rather general (If you want to avoid reading this transliterated version, you can just click on the link to see one in Devnagri) –

“Aa rahi hain shubhkamanayen
Ki gaye varsha ko hum bhool jayen
Aur saath lekar naya ek harsha
Shuru karein Apna Navavarsha

To kya hum bhool jayen
Gaye varsha kee asafaltayen
Jinki Kheez Hamein Chunauti Deti hai
Ki is varsha hum payen safaltayen?

Aur kya bhool jayen woh safaltayen
Jinke liye Humne Khushi ke geet hain gaye
Aur jinse hamein bal mila hai
Ki is varsha bhee hum aage badhate hayen”

And so on… (There are more stanzas of the kind)

Anyway, debates of substance and debates of interpretations can continue and will continue. And as I have said elsewhere, its finally somebody’s judgement that one has to depend on. I will depend on mine and everyone can depend on theirs or anybody else’s likewise.

Despite all the suggestions about letting the past (read IITK) go, I shall not be able to let it go. And not would I want to do so. It does stand for some ideals for me (not that I have any intention of idealizing the place as a whole – but yes, the things which I liked). And its okay to be dissatisfied with present, if need be. So that in future, if I have it in my power, I would like to make something different from what I have at present. What can be better than having a past which can support a dream?

And not that I am not doing well enough to carry on in the present system. When I become incapable of doing that, I shall rethink it.

This entry was posted in IITK, Imported from Old Blog, Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

Leave a Reply

