Where to start?

Don’t know where to start from. Have been offline for around 20 days and so many things have happened since then – personally and to the society around. Election results have shocked the nation and the new ministry seems to have all old, experienced faces (save Mr. Laloo Prasad – a new face in central government, that is). Never mind that my younger cousin sister’s, who lives in my village, first reaction while watching the oath taking ceremony was why do they have to take all lame people in the ministry🙂 Jokes apart, whether this means that the country is in experienced hands or that there is no new blood and hence stagnation, remains to be seen. Probably one of most innovative marketing campaign did fail, after all. Will there be an “India Shining” case study in my first course of marketing at IIML?

Personally, spent only one day at home. Rest of the time was spent in Ranchi and in my native village – for my nephew’s mundan. It was an interesting time – from Kanpur to Ranchi to Bhramarpur (my village), then a day at Jogbani (my current hometown) and then back to Kanpur. Saw a gamut of life-styles in a row – none of them unknown or new to me – its just interesting to juxtapose them and that is the kind of thing that happens on visits like these. In Ranchi too, on the one hand met friends of Ranchi and school teachers of DPS there and on the other hand spent time with the students of Navodaya. Honestly, even though the latter was my main reason for going there, I could not do justice to it. I just could not resist the temptation to leave the Navodaya campus in the evenings for a variety of reasons not precluding the prospect of good food at any one of my relatives’ place (I have got several in Ranchi) or even at Annu’s hostel (She is a friend studying in BIT Mesra,and stays in a private hostel, where food in pretty good). Never mind that, the point of focus was “gamut of life-styles”.There is this lot of Navodaya (and it takes me back to my own days there), with kids of class 11th and 12th so ignorant as to hardly knowing anything about what doing engineering or medical entails and I had prepared myself to tell them about “alternative” career options. Ha! Alternative to what dear? One should not be shocked at someone asking – “Oh! So, it takes four years of studies to become an engineer?” And then there were friends at SAIL township and Mecon colony and students and teachers at DPS. I can not help mentioning the teachers’ ubiquitous reaction “My God! Jaya Jha! What a drastic change” – That low profile, quite, thin girl in neither of these now. Too bad! But anyway, they are enlightened lot. Ranchi produces some of the top rankers in many of the engineering and medical entrance exams! But the teachers there still do not understand that I am opting for MBA because Engineering is not really my cup of tea. “Ah! Look at the heights of her modesty. She is JEE Rank 88 and Engineering is not her cup of tea – who would believe her?” Well – I should not have said that – only if JEE was that sacrosanct. And then of course was my village, where the success or failure of a person depends on the kind of feast he/she hosts on the functions in his house. It turned out to be pleasant for us because by the standards applied there – it was one of the most successful feasts – May God bless these people.

Rest later.

This entry was posted in Imported from Old Blog, Thoughts by Jaya. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jaya

Jaya Jha is an entrepreneur, a techie, a writer and a poet. She was born and brought up in various towns of Bihar and Jharkhand. A graduate of IIT Kanpur and IIM Lucknow, she realized early on that the corporate world was not her cup of tea. In 2008, she started Pothi.com, one of the first print-on-demand publishing platform in India. She currently lives in Bangalore and divides her time between writing and working on her company's latest product InstaScribe (http://instascribe.com) with a vision to make it the best e-book creation tool. Blog: https://jayajha.wordpress.com Twitter: @jayajha Facebook: http://facebook.com/MovingOnTheBook

Leave a Reply

