Recipes for Crepes and Butterscotch Sauce

Two recipes I tried over the weekend and found right. Although I made no alterations of my own, I am jotting them down for future reference, in case the original pages became inaccessible for these recipes.

Original Recipes

  1. Butterscotch Sauce
  2. Simple Crepes

Now, for future reference.

Butterscotch Sauce Recipe

Ingredients

  1. 4 tbsp cooking butter
  2. 1 cup (tightly packed) brown sugar (I use Eagle brand Demerara sugar)
  3. 3/4 cup heavy cream (I used Amul Fresh Cream)

Original recipe also had following two ingredients, which I skipped. It probably is supposed to make a difference, but I wanted to keep my sauce usable in various recipes. I thought salt and vanilla may interfere.

  1. 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  2. 1 tsp kosher salt (I had to look up what kosher salt meant. It is essentially more raw salt with no iodine etc. I am not sure if it is available by that name in India. I guess normal salt will do too. Since I did not use it, it did not matter to me.)

Steps

  1. Melt butter in a saucepan over low-to-medium heat. Proceed to the next step just before it completely melt or immediately after it.
  2. Add all the brown sugar and stir until sugar is uniformly wet.
  3. Stir once in a while until the sugar melts. (It took me almost 10 minutes, although the original recipe talked of 3-5 minutes. So, watch the mixture and take your own time.)
  4. Add all the cream, lower the flames a bit and whist the mixture until cream is mixed well.
  5. Turn the heat back to medium and let it boil for 10 minutes. Keep stirring or whisking once in a while.
  6. Let it cool at room temperature.
  7. If you are using vanilla and salt, add it a little at a time to taste and mix well.
  8. Chill in a tight-lid container for later use.

I used butterscotch sauce as sweetener in my usual ice cream recipe to get nice home-made butterscotch ice-cream.

Crepe Recipe

This is original recipe halved. Made 4+1 (small) crepes for me)

Ingredients

  1. 1/2 cup Maida (all-purpose floor)
  2. 2 eggs
  3. 3/4 cup milk
  4. 1/2 tbsp sugar
  5. 1.5 tbsp melted cooking butter
  6. A pinch of salt

Steps

  1. Mix all the ingredients well. Using a blender is recommended for smooth batter. Blend until mixture is smooth and bubbles form on top. (I recently acquired a hand-blender and it was super-convenient for this. Otherwise pour in your usual mixer-grinder or food-processor to make the batter).
  2. Let batter sit at room temperature for 15 minutes. It can also be refrigerated for up to one day.
  3. Heat a flat-bottomed pan (flat dosa-tawa will do very well) and coat with butter.
  4. Pour 1/3 cup of batter at a time and swirl to cover the bottom of the pan.
  5. Let it cook for 2-3 minutes.
  6. Lossen the edge with the spatula and then flip. Cook the other side for one minute.
  7. Slide it off the pan or pick up with the help of spatula.
  8. Put any filling you want and fold or roll (Abhaya helpfully filled it with peanut-butter and chocolate sauce, while I made crepes!)
  9. Repeat with remaining batter (1/3 cup at a time)

Crepes can also be served with butterscotch sauce :)

One thought on “Recipes for Crepes and Butterscotch Sauce

Leave a Reply

